Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
My son loves these so much he wanted them instead of cake for his birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Yuk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hotpinktiffie
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I'm not too big a fan of cake pops, but my cousins and friends all loved these! definitely cool the cake before adding frosting and then chill the balls for a bit before dunking them in the chocolate coating. we used colored candy melts and rainbow sprinkles. for the super cute cake pops in my picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotpinktiffie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Do not use an entire tub of frosting or your cake balls will taste very gummy and not very good. I use half a tub of frosting for one box of cake mix and they are delicious! You can always add a little more frosting if you need it more moist... but once too moist you can't take it back out :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
There were tears, sweat, cursing...and then there were cake balls. With the task of planning my best friends bridal shower, I thought these might be a fun alternative to cakes or cupcakes. Begin cake ball trial #1. I am not a baker by any means, and with all the different reviews about this recipe I was nervous to start! I baked a cake mix, mixed with icing while hot (I did not use all the icing and added a little at a time) and made into balls with a 1 inch diameter cookie scoop. Left toothpicks in the balls and put on sheets in the freezer. So far, so good. Several hours later, upon dipping them in chocolate melting disks, realized the toothpicks were a mistake-I couldn't get them off! Some fell off in the chocolate, some started crumbling, and in general came out rather unattractive looking, as the chocolate coated really thick. However, I still found them rather tasty and the texture not at all unpleasant. Plus, what an affordable party dessert! Despite the pain these are to make, I will definitely put these on the shower menu- with some extra decoration to pretty them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I did have a problem with the finished balls...I had a crack in the chocolate on just about all of the balls that I made. Does anyone have any suggestions to eliminate this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
These are awesome for holiday giving. I used Strawberry cake mix and frosting and chocolate coating. You can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I find this recipe makes A LOT of truffle-sized balls; I prefer to make these for larger gatherings or when I know I'll have someone to take the surplus balls out of my house! lol. These are very good though, very simple. Definitely chill mixture when forming the balls, and keep a bowl of cold water for your hands in between rolling the balls. Melting wafers are probably the best way to go with these, too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
These were really good and made the "cake" last longer. They were very sweet - but everyone in my family thought they were perfect. I had to use a lot more chocolate coating than what the recipe called for, otherwise the recipe was perfect. I could see a million different combinations that could be made and enjoyed for so many events and holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Cake balls/pops are delicious and, yes, time consuming. This recipe gets only 2 stars due to the fact that it is a huge bowl of mush... One box of cake requires a HALF container frosting, and add more until consistency is NOT MUSH. When using far less frosting, sticks hold well and balls do not fall apart when dipped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States