Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I have been making this item for about 1.5 years and am doing them for Christmas this year. I find it easier to dip if the prepared balls are refrigerated for about an hour, and dip them using an old Easter egg dye dipper instead of toothpicks (it wastes less chocolate and there is no fighting to get it off the toothpick). I am making smaller balls (half of the mellon baller) and made 26 dozen from 3 cakes. One batch is with a white cake mix and mint chocolate chip icing and the other with a french vanilla cake with white chocolate almond icing; both dipped in chocolate confectioners coating. My all time favorite though is red velvet with cream cheese icing and vanilla confectioners coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1806 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Very good. Leave a lot of time for prep. I mixed the cake and frosting, rolled into balls with my hands, placed on cookie sheet lined with parchment paper...then put in the freezer for 30 minutes before dipping. I used 2 spoons to coat and dip into the vanilla almond bark. I also used 3X as much almond bark than the recipe called for...then sprinkled with colored red sugar after dipping. Very pleasing to the eye..and got rave reviews from family and co-workers. Thank you for the recipe! Second making of cake balls....white cake with strawberry icing, coated with vanilla almond bark...pure Heaven! Third making of "The Balls". Red velvet cake with vanilla icing coated with vanilla almond bark...It does NOT get any better than this! I absolutely love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
These are GREAT! I took them to work today and they all BEGGED me to make more tomorrow! I used vanilla cake and chocolate icing. It was hard to dip them in the chocolate coating though. I did refrigerate them first but bits of cake would come off in the chocolate and gum it up. So I ended up pouring chocolate over the tops. I used my larger scoop to make the balls and it made way more than 36. I had to use a lot more chocolate coating also. Added note- the next time I made these, I FROZE the balls before dipping and that worked WAY better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRINAFOS
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I made my cake last night. When i got home from church i cut the cake into about 2in pieces and put them all in my kitchen aid. I put the icing in the micorwave for 25 seconds, (just long enough to soften it and not make it runny) to make it easier to stir in. The cake was just the right for making balls. My five year old DD even helped me make balls. We got 54 balls out of our batch. I put them in the freezer for about an hour before diping them in the chocolate. When I melted I the choclate I only melted 3 squares of the almond bark at a time and i put about a tsp of shortening in it (very important). I put a tooth pick in the cake ball dipped it in chocolate and then I left the tooth pick in util it dried and then i went back and filled the whole with choclate. This recipe is definitly a keeper and I WILL be making it again. Next time I'm going to try it with strawbery cake and iceing.. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
These are so unique and very good! I like the versatility of this recipe. I added some finely chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
hugee hit~ will make again. probably try different flavors. oooh exciting. i followed the other advice and placed the balls in the fridge for an hour. came out perfect~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I will use this recipe again. Refrigerating before coating is a must. I used a lot more chocolate coating than what this recipe calls for. Do not melt the chocolate in a microwave. Use a double boiler so the coating remains the right consistency for dipping. We made these for my dad's 95th birthday party, with the idea of making them look like road apples (horse manure). My father lives on a farm and is a horse lover. We used chocolate cake, German chocolate frosting and chocolate coating. After coating them with chocolate we rolled them in green and yellow, lightly toasted coconut. We made these of varing sizes, but averaged two inches. These were stacked up in a child's wheelbarrow. They were quite a hit! Three cake mixes, 4 cans of frosting yielded 100.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Our local baker makes these and won't give out the recipe. I made this recipe and let several people try them and they couldn't tell the difference. Very rich and wonderful. I used choc chips with 1/2 bar of home parafin wax for the outer chocolate instead of the confectioners choc. I think it's easier to work with. I've been asked for the recipe by everyone who has tried them so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
My husband and I decided these should be called cake holes because they are kind of like donut holes-just more moist. Very messy to roll into balls and then still difficult to dip even after their stay in the refrigerator. Instead of taking the time to dip, I left them on the cookie sheet and drizzled a good amount of the chocolate coating on top, let them harden a bit, flipped them over and drizzled with more coating. I think this saved me a good amount of time, though they probably don't look quite as nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Made these for a shower. YUMMMMMM!!!! Used a 1" cookie scoop and got 4 dozen. Freeze until solid,very easy to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States