Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by conqueress
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I don't remember WHEN I learned of this recipe - these sell well at bake sales and also no problem to make ahead of time. They keep well at least a week. One thing I also do is make LITTLE cake balls using pretzels instead of pop sticks - great for smaller portions. Pretzels are earth freindly so to speak. I will be making the little ones and big ones for my son's wedding reception. Recently I found a recipe using cream cheese - will try that this week. The book "Cake Pops: Tips, Tricks, and Recipes for More Than 40 Irresistible Mini Treats" adds a lot of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Photo by amberlynne
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was an awesome idea! I used less icing, that's the only "modification" but they turned out delicious! I added a photo of them. I drizzeled white icing over the vanilla cake, and fudge icing over the chocolate cakes to tell them apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberlynne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Made these today for a cookout we were having with some neighbors, everyone liked them. I used chocolate cake and chocolate icing then dipped them in white chocolate and put some sprinkles on top. I was short on time but I think next time once the cake is crumbled and the icing mixed in I would refrigerate the mixture for a couple hours before rolling it will roll nicer and probably not have as many crumbs in the chocolate...I would even refrigerate again after they are rolled. I used a silpat on a cookie sheet and the chocolate covered balls came off very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
The all chocolate balls were unbelievable! Tried lemon cake w/lemon icing and white bark...not so great. I would stick with the chocolate. My child who doesn't even like sweets fell in love with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I'm giving this 1 star for very very poor directions. I've never made cake balls before and wanted to make these for an event. Little did I know you had to cool or freeze the batter. Thank you so much to the reviewers for helping me out there. If it wasn't for you, I would be crying in my cake ball batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinglife1957

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Used Duncan Hines Red Velvet cake and Pillsbury whipped cr cheese frosting. (not very cr cheese taste - didn't have time to make my own though) Let cake cool completely then processed a little at a time in a food processor - pulsing only about 5 times per batch. Only had to use 3/4 can of frosting. Didn't want them to be mushy as other reviews stated. If it starts crumbling when rolling into balls - try washing your hands. Little bits sticking to my hands seemed to make them not want to hold together. Refrigerated till chilled. Dipped in Wilton white bark pieces. For a garnish I took the same bark pieces and pulsed in the food processor and made them into tiny little flake pieces. Let the dipped cake balls harden just slightly then sprinkled on top. So pretty! My daughter is having a "Brave" themed b-day party and wanted to work something red into a dessert because the main character has bright red hair. Worked perfect! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This is excellent, always a hit at a BBQ , I made pina colada's : pineapple cake, coconut/pecan frosting and roll in powdered sugar. BIG HIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I have made and sold these for several years at craft fairs, they are always a huge hit! I add extracts to kick up the flavor and food coloring to enhance the look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
We love these! We love to use German chocolate cake with German Chocolate frosting. Delish! Definitely freeze for an hour or longer before dipping into hot chocolate, otherwise, the ball falls apart into your chocolate and then it looks way less appetizing. I may have to make some tomorrow, they just look so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Great (but super sweet) treat! I did make some modifications: 1. Let cake cool for 30 minutes. 2. Mix in 1/2 tub of frosting. 3. Use small scoop to form the balls, place on wax paper and freeze for 30-60 minutes. 4. I made mine into cake pop by dipping the tip of the stick into the melted chocolate and inserting into the cooled cake ball. 5. Used a full bag of the chocolate coating I purchased from craft store. 6. Decorated with sprinkles. 7. Use something to hold the sticks while the chocolate hardens. (Hint- I turned my metal collander upside down and inserted the sticks into the holes- worked great! You could also purchase styrofoam block at craft store) Overall these turned out great, I wrapped them up individually for a bake sale and they were a huge hit! While they take awhile to make, the time is mainly spent waiting on the cake to cool or the balls to chill. For my first batch I made all Chocolate (cake, icing, coating). But I cannot wait to experiment with various flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,850) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States