Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This recipe is good start... but I have a coupla tips. Definitely chill the balls, makes it way easier, especially if you are making cake pops. Also, I used *half* the recommended frosting, I would have had mush otherwise. Yes, they are supersweet, but a huge hit with school-age kids, especially with crushed peppermint on top for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralindhe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springville, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Great recipe! I used Duncan's Dark Chocolate Fudge cake and mixed it with Pillsbury's Peppermint icing. Wonderful combination and I dipped some in white and others in chocolate coating. I did follow others advice and waited till the cake cooled to add frosting and then once mixed I refrigerated the mixture a few hours before making into balls and then refrigerated the balls a few hours before dipping them. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is the 2nd time I used this recipe. Very good, but I do not folloow the directions as they are written. There would be way too much icing in the cake balls. Like another reviewer said, you can use coffee, ice cream topping or icing to make the cake stick together. I cut the outside edge of the cake and threw it away. I added coffee and carmel ice cream topping to the cake. You don't need a lot, just enough to make the cake moist, and roll them in balls. Freeze them. Get several out of the freezer at a time and dip them in chocolate. I used toothpicks and it worked great! I think I am going to make German Chocolate Cake Balls the next time I make these. I think they are better than cake. If you listen to these instructions, you will get cake balls that still have a cake consistency. Otherwise, it would be too moist and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Only need 1/4 can of frosting. If you mix with your hands you'll know when the cake to frosting ratio is just right. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and washed my hands several times while making the balls. It definitely helped keep them in tact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Easy to make and delicious to eat. Makes a truffle like cake ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These are amazing and a huge hit everytime i make them. I have gave this recipe to about 25 people now who after they try one insist on having the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These are very delicious! I had trouble keeping the balls together when I dipped them in the chocolate (red velevet covered with white chocolate). I took some suggestions and froze the balls then dipped them, but small pieces kept falling off and by the time I finished there were small flecks of red velvet in my white chocolate. It didn't affect the taste, but it just didn't look as pretty as I wanted. Maybe I did something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksosbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yale, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Made these for a kid's party. Easy and a hit. Felt like I was cheating. Next time I will add some kind of "spirit" to make them adult rated. Mmmm (hic)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My homemade cake recipe on this site flopped...as in crumbled. So I grabbed the vanilla flavored chips to melt.. yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,850) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States