Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
They worked but I was surprized how long it took from start to finish. I used Betty Crocker Gluten Free cake mix. It worked to shape the balls, but when I put them on the sticks, they slid down. So I served my 'regular' batch on sticks and the gluten free ones upside down in muffin papers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made these per the recipe and afterwards reading the reviews (which is very much not like me) BUT be sure to follow the advice of LEXI70. I'm looking forward to making these again - but I will be applying LEXI70's advice for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BluLobstah
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I used devils food cake mix and chocolate frosting..make sure cake is cool before crumbling and use about 3/4 of a 16 Paz container of frosting when cooled. Roll into balls and refrigerate for at least an hour before dipping in chocolate coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Definitely chill the cake batter before dipping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Succinct, easy, just make sure to cool your cake before crumbling and cut off the edges if they're a bit too brown and/or hard. If you don't use a confectioner's coating (chocolate bar or candy making discs) be sure to either temper your chocolate or if you're using chocolate chips, add 1 Tb of shortening to every cup of chips to create a smooth chocolate coating that will harden and look nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made them what a disaster. The balls worked out great, a little soft placed, in refrigeration for 2 hrs, melting chocolate was the task and dipping. they kept falling off so I put them in the freezer tried to dip but the choc was a mess never again try that . Next time I will melt the cake icing and pour over the balls and be done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe...but I did make some changes...DON'T USE THE WHOLE CONTAINER OF ICING! This will give you a mess! Add 1/2 and mix well. Then add to your desired consistency. We like a little drier ball, like a truffle. I use the almond bark, a little bit of shortning to help with look when dried, and definetly try the Andies baking chips. Just enough mint flavor! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This recipe is good start... but I have a coupla tips. Definitely chill the balls, makes it way easier, especially if you are making cake pops. Also, I used *half* the recommended frosting, I would have had mush otherwise. Yes, they are supersweet, but a huge hit with school-age kids, especially with crushed peppermint on top for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralindhe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springville, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Great recipe! I used Duncan's Dark Chocolate Fudge cake and mixed it with Pillsbury's Peppermint icing. Wonderful combination and I dipped some in white and others in chocolate coating. I did follow others advice and waited till the cake cooled to add frosting and then once mixed I refrigerated the mixture a few hours before making into balls and then refrigerated the balls a few hours before dipping them. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States