Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I did have a problem with the finished balls...I had a crack in the chocolate on just about all of the balls that I made. Does anyone have any suggestions to eliminate this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
These are awesome for holiday giving. I used Strawberry cake mix and frosting and chocolate coating. You can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I find this recipe makes A LOT of truffle-sized balls; I prefer to make these for larger gatherings or when I know I'll have someone to take the surplus balls out of my house! lol. These are very good though, very simple. Definitely chill mixture when forming the balls, and keep a bowl of cold water for your hands in between rolling the balls. Melting wafers are probably the best way to go with these, too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
These were really good and made the "cake" last longer. They were very sweet - but everyone in my family thought they were perfect. I had to use a lot more chocolate coating than what the recipe called for, otherwise the recipe was perfect. I could see a million different combinations that could be made and enjoyed for so many events and holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Cake balls/pops are delicious and, yes, time consuming. This recipe gets only 2 stars due to the fact that it is a huge bowl of mush... One box of cake requires a HALF container frosting, and add more until consistency is NOT MUSH. When using far less frosting, sticks hold well and balls do not fall apart when dipped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
These were extremely easy to make and were unbelievably moist. I let the crumbled cake and frosting mixture cool in the refrigerator for several hours before using a cookie scoop/melon baller to make the balls. Also, I did not have much luck dipping the balls in the candy coating and ended up just pouring the coating on top of the balls. If you do it that way, you'll need quite a bit more of the candy coating, but it's much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flashdog
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made the cake like directed, but used instead water Kahlua.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Excellent Valentines treat! Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Yummy and fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Cake truffles are a sure crowd pleaser, and they are not difficult to make. Some tips: 1. Use 1/2 can of frosting. It gives a great consistency -not mushy. 2. A hand mixer or food processor mix the cake and frosting easily. 3. As noted before, insert a toothpick and freeze the cake balls for at least an hour before dipping. 4. Consider buying dipping chocolate from your local chocolatier. I paid about $6 a pound for white and dark chocolate and it is superior to chocolate chips or those Wilton wafer thingys. 5. Closely monitor the temperature of the dipping chocolate - white chocolate in particular will 'seize up.' 6. Use a spoon or small ladle to aid in covering the cake ball with chocolate. if toothpicks don't work for you, hold the cake ball on a plastic fork with the two center tines broken out. 7. Serve them in mini muffin cups or candy cups. JoAnn has some darling ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,850) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States