Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
So many possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Okay. I had heard from tons of people that these were amazing, not including all the positive reviews. I make a German chocolate cake, coconut pecan frosting. I used Baker's semi-sweet chocolate coating to dip. My cake mix was smaller than the recipe calls for; I used an entire tub of frosting and it took 3 - 8 oz. packages to coat all the balls this recipe made. That said, I felt that they were messy to make - I mixed the cake and frosting while still warm and used a cookie scoop to make the balls. then I put in the freezer for about 45 minutes. Unless the balls were really cold, they looked kind of gloppy. They are extremely sweet. I much prefer the recipe on this site for Oreo Truffles. I do like the ability to mix and match all the flavors though. Maybe my chocolate wasn't right. May try again, but not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This really is very simple to make and only time consuming if you sit around and do nothing else while you are waiting on the cake to be ready. I made this with Betty Crocker Gluten Free cake mix, vanilla frosting and dipped it in chocolate. They are VERY sweet even for someone with a huge sweet tooth. I did the following: 1.Baked the cake following the instructions and let it cool for about 30 minutes. 2. Broke up the cake into crumbles and mixed in about a half a can of frosting (I figured too little was better than too much!) 3. Chilled the cake mix overnight. 4. Formed the balls of cake and placed lollipop sticks in them. 5. Froze the cake balls for about an hour and then dipped them in the Baker's Dipping Chocolate cups. Everything together probably only took an hour of hands on time with a delicious result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Made cake pops out of mine. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Photo by ladyinthewoods
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I used about 1/2 can of frosting and they were delicious!! My sons are already asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I made the recipe as directed, but will use less frosting next time as other suggested. A full can is just way too much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Easy and tastes great! I made red velvet, cream cheese frosting and white chocolate almond bark. Soooo good, and I like the way you can make so many different combinations with this. I will make these over and over and they are such a hit at parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My family couldn't stop eating these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
As a recipe that has been around longer than Starbucks has had their Cake Pop's, this is obviously a hit-it-out-of-the-ball-park dessert. I used this recipe as a starting point for my cake pops. I decided to make Chocolate Mint ones. I used 1/2 chocolate cake & 1/2 tub chocolate frosting. I mixed peppermint extract in w/ the frosting (just enough to please the taste buds). When it was ready for dipping, i used melted Andes Mint Chips. Theses mint ones were amazing. With the second 1/2 of the cake and frosting I did peanut butter/chocolate. the balls were completely chocolate. For the dip I melted 1/2 milk chocolate chips with 1/2 peanutbutter chips. these too were devine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I made these last night for my sons football team! A huge hit! I made strawberry cake, strawberry icing and dipped them in chocolate. I also made milk chocolate cake/cream cheese frosting and dipped them in chocolate! Yummo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abigtadoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States