Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are amazing. And they look so professional. If yours come out too mushy just add some powdered sugar to get the correct consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Tryban Gilchrist

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nativeSDgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was my first attempt at cake balls. After baking the cake I immediately transferred the cake to a glass bowl to cool a bit. I avoided transferring the tough cake edges. I then used 8 ounces of frosting and mixed it in with an electric mixer. The result resembled dough. I formed the balls and put them in the freezer for an hour. Now here comes the hard part, coating the balls. I tried the toothpick method and it didnt work for me. So then I used a fork and spoon which was a lot better but I still was not happy with the result. Some of the coating on the balls even cracked. These are very time consuming so Im not sure I will make them again, considering the way they turned out. They did taste good though. I used red velvet cake and cream cheese frosting. UPDATE****I made another batch with chocolate cake and cream cheese frosting. This time I only used 1/2 cup of frosting. I used a pastry blender to crumble the cake and mix in the frosting. The balls held together nicely while still having the cake texture (not doughy). I tried the toothpick method again. This time I LEFT THE TOOTHPICK IN THE CAKE BALL. Just before the coating dried, but still gooey, I removed the toothpick and the coating settled into the hole. Also if your coating is too thick add a tiny bit of canola oil to loosen it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
A lot of work and not very good. Maybe another recipe would work better, but this one was a waste of cake, frosting and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These are an effort to make (dirty dishes, etc)-but always go over well. and you can customize to whatever holiday or event with sprinkles or coloring white chocolate. I had the most trouble with melting white chocolate. I used white chocolate chips--which didn't melt well--I would recommend using the bakers chocolate-white or chocolate. I used white pearl sprinkles and it looked lovely and covered any imperfect areas! I will make these again. I think it's just one of those recipes that gets better with practice. AND I did not have to use the entire can of frosting. I wasted one whole vanilla cake by using a whole can. I found 2/3 is enough to keep it moist and workable. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Newbrough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made two versions of these. The first was Red Velvet Cake/Cream Cheese Frosting with White Coating topped with Christmas decorations. the second was German Choc. Cake with coconut/pecan frosting dipped in choc. almond bar and then topped with a coconut/pecan blended in my food processor. I thought the second one was better. I agree with the reviewer who had mixed her cake/frosting and then put it in the refrig for a couple of hours. I did the same with my second batch and even after I rolled them, allowed the "balls" to sit for another hour or two. I think these turned out much better than my first batch. The red velvet batch is just starting to come into their own after one day of settling. I think if I would have followed the process I used for my first batch, they would have turned out better. An important note though is that the "insides" are very similiar to a truffle, not dry like a cake, so don't freak out like I did!! I did like these enough though that they will be standards on my Christmas trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These are delicious and I can't wait to give them as gifts. They are, however, time consuming and a bit tedious to make. I just finished making a ton of them, and I have some helpful tips: Let the cake cool completely and cut off any hard or dark edges before crumbling. Crumble the cake as fine as you can before adding frosting - using your hands works best. I found I needed the entire can of frosting to make them moist enough. Mix cake and frosting very well. Chill cake & frosting mixture overnight. When rolling balls, wet your hands - it will help the balls stick together and will keep the cake from sticking to your hands as badly. Don't make the balls too big! Insert a toothpick into each ball, place on a cookie sheet, and freeze for 30-60 minutes. When dipping (this is KEY!) dip as much of the top part of the ball as possible and don't worry about getting coating all the way to the bottom around the toothpick. Stick the toothpick into wax paper covered styrofoam (I used the packing from an old stereo), add sprinkles, and let the coating set up. Then take the ball off the toothpick and dip the bottom in coating to cover and place on wax paper lined cookie sheets. If the ball slid down the toothpick, just touch up the hole in the top with some coating dipped in a toothpick. I used Wilton candy coating, and I managed to cover about 42 balls per bag. The recipe made WAY more balls than that though, so plan accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I knew when I saw "canned frosting" in the recipe I would not like them. After two years I broke down and made the red velvet cake balls to take to a party tomorrow. Made 50. I did not care for them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Easy to follow, I used two bags of the Wilton coating chips per cake mix box and the double boiler melting is the best practice. I also freeze balls before coating. Made snowmen this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
These are good with a few changes. Only use 1/2 to 3/4 of the container of frosting. After rolling into balls, FREEZE them overnight. This will make dipping them much easier. Also, I use candy melts rather than an almond bark or something like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This recipe deserves 5 stars. It is so easy and delicious, just time consuming. The last time I made them, it made about 80, so its definately a treat to make for a large group. I do the chocolate cake, chocolate frosting and they taste like Hostess Ding Dongs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomofTynTrev

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States