Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I rated this 3 stars. Why? It doesn't include the most important directions, just the minor ones. First, use only about half of your icing, maybe 3/4 depending on your cake you made. Also, allow your cake to cool ALMOST all the way, it should still have just a bit of heat. Once you mix, let cool in the freezer about 30 minutes. Take the mix out, roll into balls, then put BACK in the freezer to cool for another 30-45 minutes. Take out, dip in your chocolate, and then set to cool. :) I made cinnamon swirl cake with a cream cheese icing ball, dipper in white almond bark, then sprinkled with cinnamon sugar, red sprinkles, and drizzled with red vanilla icing and peppermint-cream-cheese icing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I recently made these for my son's second grade holiday party. These are good, and I'm glad I read through the reviews for some of the advice. I only used a 1/2 can of frosting, and I smashed up the cake with a dough cutter, which made it not so mushy. I also put the balls in the freezer before frosting which was definitely needed. With all that said, however, I have to admit...I'm like the one reviewer. I think next time I might be more inclined to make cupcakes and frost them and call it good. There really is quite a lot of steps to these. Yes it was fun and festive, but not sure worth all the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These are great for kids! Fun and easy to make. Can be made with many sprinkles and drizzles in a nice presentations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I was very disappointed in the result. I made two batches for Christmas. One with a butter yellow cake, cream cheese frosting and vanilla candy coating dip. The other was a dark chocolate cake mix with coconut pecan frosting (German chocolate frosting) dipped in semi-sweet chocolate. In the end I had a lot of mediocre balls on my hands. Dipping anything is a lot of work. I wished I had made the Oreo Truffles or Buckeyes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I tried and tried, but just couldn't get it to work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
So i dedicated 1 whole day pretty much to making these..and im very please with the way they turned out!. I made the cake and frosting mixture one night and let it cool in the fridge over night. In the morning i rolled them into balls, and placed them on a sheet in the freezer.They stayed there all day and in the evening i took them out to do the final touches. I used a toothpick to roll them in some bakers melted chocolate. I did white chocolate and rolled them in crushed candy canes, dark chocolate and rolled them in peanuts, and also bittersweet chocolate and rolled them in coconut. They look really pretty!and taste great too! if you have the time to make them, you'll be happy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
There are few recipes that I can't make work. This recipe is a bit of a mess, and it tastes exactly like a cake from a box. Save yourself some time and make some cupcakes with a great cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I have never had cake balls but they sounded like a good idea for a Christmas treat. After trying one, I realized they weren't for me. Be prepared to spend A LOT of time making these and a lot of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I used a variety of combinations, these are very good just very time consuming. Takes longer than it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I did gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States