Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These are great for kids! Fun and easy to make. Can be made with many sprinkles and drizzles in a nice presentations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I was very disappointed in the result. I made two batches for Christmas. One with a butter yellow cake, cream cheese frosting and vanilla candy coating dip. The other was a dark chocolate cake mix with coconut pecan frosting (German chocolate frosting) dipped in semi-sweet chocolate. In the end I had a lot of mediocre balls on my hands. Dipping anything is a lot of work. I wished I had made the Oreo Truffles or Buckeyes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Haslett, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I tried and tried, but just couldn't get it to work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
So i dedicated 1 whole day pretty much to making these..and im very please with the way they turned out!. I made the cake and frosting mixture one night and let it cool in the fridge over night. In the morning i rolled them into balls, and placed them on a sheet in the freezer.They stayed there all day and in the evening i took them out to do the final touches. I used a toothpick to roll them in some bakers melted chocolate. I did white chocolate and rolled them in crushed candy canes, dark chocolate and rolled them in peanuts, and also bittersweet chocolate and rolled them in coconut. They look really pretty!and taste great too! if you have the time to make them, you'll be happy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
There are few recipes that I can't make work. This recipe is a bit of a mess, and it tastes exactly like a cake from a box. Save yourself some time and make some cupcakes with a great cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I have never had cake balls but they sounded like a good idea for a Christmas treat. After trying one, I realized they weren't for me. Be prepared to spend A LOT of time making these and a lot of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I used a variety of combinations, these are very good just very time consuming. Takes longer than it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I did gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Excellent! I put a candy stick on the end of each ball before dipping in assorted chocolates to make cake pops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe was just ok to me. The process of dipping the balls was extreemly messy, time consuming and in the end the flavor was just ok. I used chocolate fudge cake and peppermint frosting and dipped in both chocolate and vanilla almond bark. I am glad others have had such amazing success, but this recipe was just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff and Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States