Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I'm not a huge fan of frosting, so I personally give these about 3 stars but everyone I gave them to thought they were amazing so that's why I'm giving them 5 stars. I gave them as christmas gifts in tins and they looked great and everyone thought I put a lot more work into them than I did. :) I made the following combos: strawberry/strawberry frosting, red velvet/cream cheese frosting, devil's food/chocolate frosting, chocolate/chocolate frosting & peanut butter, french vanilla/vanilla frosting and crushed oreos. I found that covering them in bark coating was MUCH easier than melted chocolate and I froze them overnight before coating to keep them from falling apart. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very simple. Very tasty. Just make sure you have enough frosting for that cake so there aren't a lot of cake crumbs. Use too much frosting and it will be too sticky and a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Made it with home made chocolate cake and frosting, then covered in semisweet chocolate chips. I thought the chocolate coating was too thick, but it was difficult for the coating to be thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
watch out for your waist, really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made three cakes and ended up with thousands of cake balls, lol! Seriously, three cakes makes a ridiculous amount of treats. I mixed strawberry cake mix with vanilla frosting, confetti cake with chocolate frosting, and devil's food cake with cream cheese frosting. I loved the strawberry combo, my hubby preferred the devil's food cake. I should have heeded reviewer's warnings and only used half of the container of frosting because using the entire container AND dipping each one in chocolate creates a very sweet dessert. Almond bark is tasty and buying a package is a lot cheaper than paying for the convenience of pre-made dipping containers which are obsolete after only a few balls. This is such a fun, cheap, and easy recipe that I can't wait to experiment with it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEDGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I was SURE everyone, including myself would love these. They sound so good. However, I made them and they were so rich that no one could eat them and I ended up throwing them all out. Sorry, I really wanted to like them. Won't be making them again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These are time consuming to make. You bake the cake, wait to cool, spend time rolling the balls, then refridgerating/freezing, and finally decorating. Make sure you have the time. Other than that, they are fantastic! I suggest using a melon baller to shape, that will save some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Not a huge fan of cake balls. I think they are fun to add to a dessert tray and others seem to really enjoy them. I would prefer to have a "regular" piece of cake with the frosting on top rather than mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My 9 year old Grandson Braxton made these for Christmas and they were outstanding. Could not keep from eating one after another Gonna some to have ready to dip in bark. Etta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I followed the direction and read many of the user reviews and still had an awful result. I used red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting (2/3 can) for the balls and dipped them in white chocolate candy coating. I ditched the hard sides of the cake, mixed the frosting in when the cake was almost cooled, made the balls with a melon abller, froze them over night and dipped the next day. The balls were not perfectly round, even when using the melon baller (this was my 2nd attempt at these!) - lumpy and bumpy. After dipping they still looked lumpy and the coating didn't seem to cover the cake evenly. I used toothpicks and found they left large, unattractive holes in cake balls. I think you definitely need to use sprinkles or more candy to cover the top of the balls and hide imperfections. Like I said, this was my 2nd attempt at this receipe both times resulted in hideous balls that were way too sweet. These were meant to be gifts for Christmas but they are too ugly & sweet to give. Do yourself a favor and just make something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States