Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I made these, and thay were fine up until the dipping part. We made them, then froze them for about 45 minutes, then melted the chocolate. The 4 oz. bar only covered 7 cakeballs! I don't know what went wrong, but 3-4 oz. of chocolate is not enough!!!!! we are going to try making some frosting and decorating them, but I think they will be too sweet. I will not be making these again. -Natalie :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Herr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this for the first time last night, but tweaked a few things. I used strawberry cake and strawberry icing. First, my cake pan was in use from a baby shower cake, so I had to use other resources. So I made cupcakes instead, spraying the pan with nonstick spray instead of wasting cupcake liners. Once done, I put them all in a bowl and stuck them in the fridge for 30 min, then used a handmixer to combine them with the icing. Chilled the combo for about an hour, then froze the balls for a few hours. I used semisweet and dark chocolate morsels from Ghiraddeli combined in a cereal bowl and used a spoon to roll the balls around in. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I used amaretto liquor with yellow cake and dipped it in chocolate. It tasted good but the time to dip and mess with toothpicks stuck in each and then I stuck those in a big piece of styrofoam so the would be nicely formed was just too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I made them for the first time. They were fun and easy to made. I used the Wilton candy melts to coat them and they worked well. Also, I froze the cake balls before I dipped them and that helped. I'm excited about trying different cake mixes and getting creative with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Four stars because they seem to be well liked by others. Not me, too sweet, too messy and I agree with those that said just make cup cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Time consuming but overall very easy to make! I used 1/2-3/4 of frosting and the consistency was perfect. I chilled them in the fridge before dipping them in almond bark. They were a huge hit at a Christmas party. Thanks for the easy instructions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made these for Christmas. I followed other people advice by using a half a can of frosting instead of a full can. They are a little work but well worth it. I made chocolate cake balls and added mint extract to taste to the icing and blended it together, and they were awesome. Thanks again for sharing and so much cheaper than the one at Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Yes, of course these were time consuming, but ... Totally worth it! I thought that they looked horrible when I was done but everyone at our family Christmas party and everyone at work loved them and said they looked great! I wasn't going to make them again after realizing the time they take, but with all of the positive feedback I will definately try again! Maybe I will try I different type of coating, since that is what made them look strange to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. King
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I'm not a huge fan of frosting, so I personally give these about 3 stars but everyone I gave them to thought they were amazing so that's why I'm giving them 5 stars. I gave them as christmas gifts in tins and they looked great and everyone thought I put a lot more work into them than I did. :) I made the following combos: strawberry/strawberry frosting, red velvet/cream cheese frosting, devil's food/chocolate frosting, chocolate/chocolate frosting & peanut butter, french vanilla/vanilla frosting and crushed oreos. I found that covering them in bark coating was MUCH easier than melted chocolate and I froze them overnight before coating to keep them from falling apart. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very simple. Very tasty. Just make sure you have enough frosting for that cake so there aren't a lot of cake crumbs. Use too much frosting and it will be too sticky and a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States