Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
After all the reviews I read I expected these to be off the wall. They were just OK....not that great in my book. I followed the recipe exactly and used strawberry cake mix with strawberry frosting covered in white chocolate. I also tried chocolate cake mix with milk chocolate frosting covered in white chocolate. I made them for my daughter's birthday party, and while they looked pretty, nobody really liked them. I will not make them again, it was not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I made these, and thay were fine up until the dipping part. We made them, then froze them for about 45 minutes, then melted the chocolate. The 4 oz. bar only covered 7 cakeballs! I don't know what went wrong, but 3-4 oz. of chocolate is not enough!!!!! we are going to try making some frosting and decorating them, but I think they will be too sweet. I will not be making these again. -Natalie :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this for the first time last night, but tweaked a few things. I used strawberry cake and strawberry icing. First, my cake pan was in use from a baby shower cake, so I had to use other resources. So I made cupcakes instead, spraying the pan with nonstick spray instead of wasting cupcake liners. Once done, I put them all in a bowl and stuck them in the fridge for 30 min, then used a handmixer to combine them with the icing. Chilled the combo for about an hour, then froze the balls for a few hours. I used semisweet and dark chocolate morsels from Ghiraddeli combined in a cereal bowl and used a spoon to roll the balls around in. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I used amaretto liquor with yellow cake and dipped it in chocolate. It tasted good but the time to dip and mess with toothpicks stuck in each and then I stuck those in a big piece of styrofoam so the would be nicely formed was just too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I made them for the first time. They were fun and easy to made. I used the Wilton candy melts to coat them and they worked well. Also, I froze the cake balls before I dipped them and that helped. I'm excited about trying different cake mixes and getting creative with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Four stars because they seem to be well liked by others. Not me, too sweet, too messy and I agree with those that said just make cup cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Time consuming but overall very easy to make! I used 1/2-3/4 of frosting and the consistency was perfect. I chilled them in the fridge before dipping them in almond bark. They were a huge hit at a Christmas party. Thanks for the easy instructions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made these for Christmas. I followed other people advice by using a half a can of frosting instead of a full can. They are a little work but well worth it. I made chocolate cake balls and added mint extract to taste to the icing and blended it together, and they were awesome. Thanks again for sharing and so much cheaper than the one at Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Yes, of course these were time consuming, but ... Totally worth it! I thought that they looked horrible when I was done but everyone at our family Christmas party and everyone at work loved them and said they looked great! I wasn't going to make them again after realizing the time they take, but with all of the positive feedback I will definately try again! Maybe I will try I different type of coating, since that is what made them look strange to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. King
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I'm not a huge fan of frosting, so I personally give these about 3 stars but everyone I gave them to thought they were amazing so that's why I'm giving them 5 stars. I gave them as christmas gifts in tins and they looked great and everyone thought I put a lot more work into them than I did. :) I made the following combos: strawberry/strawberry frosting, red velvet/cream cheese frosting, devil's food/chocolate frosting, chocolate/chocolate frosting & peanut butter, french vanilla/vanilla frosting and crushed oreos. I found that covering them in bark coating was MUCH easier than melted chocolate and I froze them overnight before coating to keep them from falling apart. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States