Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Despite this recipe being time consuming and a bit messy, I really enjoyed these! I'm excited to try a tiramisu recipe I found. They are easy and fun! My SpEd students really enjoyed making these for a Christmas activity. Thinking of making them bigger and doing cake pops for the fundraisers we do. For those who don't get how to do it or who have had negative outcomes, something with the mix is not right. It's best to really crumble the (COOLED) cake so there are no big chunks and to use a little bit of frosting at first, and then add as needed. If a whole tub is used, the balls will not form properly. Happy Cake Balling ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Choyce13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Excellent--but I used chocolate chips melted with some shortening instead of the confectioners coating--never like the waxy taste of those or the store bought wafers, ick. These turned out wonderfully. Important to let the balls freeze for about 40 mins to allow for easier dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianne Son-Hing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
So these are amazing! Yes they are time-consuming (I personally find rolling the balls the most labor intensive, but I feel that way about those cute meatballs in Holiday Wedding Soup too ;) I agree that boxed mixes make boxed cakes....why not just take your favorite cake recipe, a simple icing recipe and make them from scratch??? Muchhhhhh better! I made the cake/icing mix after cooling the cake 30 min as directed, my icing was a bit thinner than canned so it was easy to add in as needed. I froze the 80 truffle balls overnite on the wax paper lined baking sheets. They were perfect for coating in the chocolate! I did Red Velvet Cake Truffles with Cream cheese icing,dipped in melted Wilton chocolates....white, dark, and milk chocolate. I put 3T of melted chocolate (each variety in separate baggies) drizzled the truffles, and put in mini foil cupcake liners for a party They are beautiful! One cake recipe yielded 80 truffles...so next time I'll 1/2 my recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcontro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by w8n2xhl
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
It is crucial to refrigerate overnight or freeze for at least an hour these cake balls before dipping into chocolate. If making cake pops, melt chocolate and dip the tip of the lollipop stick into the chocolate and stick that tip into the balls (it'll look like tiny caramel apples getting ready for the caramel bath) then stick these in the fridge/freezer to firm up. THEN you can dip into the melted chocolate. For a regular cake mix, I'd only use a cup of the frosting. That is more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w8n2xhl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I made this for Christmas, and they were a big hit. I loved playing with the flavors. I think our favorite was gingerbread with lemon frosting and vanilla coating. I was a little heavy-handed with the frosting to make the mixture nice and mold-able. And I used a cookie scoop to shape the balls. I'm thinking about trying chocolate with nutella next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Easy recipe with a lot of option potential. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I'm with the rest of the negative reviews. I don't get it. Followed the instructions using a tub of cream cheese frosting and refrigerated overnight. They were still mushy. I didn't even bother doing the chocolate coating. I didn't want to waste it because I new from the taste of the rest that there were not worth it. I've seen recipes with cream cheese instead of the frosting. Maybe those might be better? Glad I didn't make and send them to my son's school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Mrs. Wayman
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These are a hit whenever I make them! I've done funfetti with sprinkles, red velvet, chocolate. The combinations are endless. Sometimes the simplest recipes are the biggest hits! This is the case with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wayman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Awesome cake balls! I do completely agree that you have to freeze the balls prior to dipping. I had a hard time with the chocolate dipping but they tasted great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,847) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States