Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Cake balls/pops are delicious and, yes, time consuming. This recipe gets only 2 stars due to the fact that it is a huge bowl of mush... One box of cake requires a HALF container frosting, and add more until consistency is NOT MUSH. When using far less frosting, sticks hold well and balls do not fall apart when dipped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
These were extremely easy to make and were unbelievably moist. I let the crumbled cake and frosting mixture cool in the refrigerator for several hours before using a cookie scoop/melon baller to make the balls. Also, I did not have much luck dipping the balls in the candy coating and ended up just pouring the coating on top of the balls. If you do it that way, you'll need quite a bit more of the candy coating, but it's much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flashdog
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I made the cake like directed, but used instead water Kahlua.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Excellent Valentines treat! Thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Yummy and fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Cake truffles are a sure crowd pleaser, and they are not difficult to make. Some tips: 1. Use 1/2 can of frosting. It gives a great consistency -not mushy. 2. A hand mixer or food processor mix the cake and frosting easily. 3. As noted before, insert a toothpick and freeze the cake balls for at least an hour before dipping. 4. Consider buying dipping chocolate from your local chocolatier. I paid about $6 a pound for white and dark chocolate and it is superior to chocolate chips or those Wilton wafer thingys. 5. Closely monitor the temperature of the dipping chocolate - white chocolate in particular will 'seize up.' 6. Use a spoon or small ladle to aid in covering the cake ball with chocolate. if toothpicks don't work for you, hold the cake ball on a plastic fork with the two center tines broken out. 7. Serve them in mini muffin cups or candy cups. JoAnn has some darling ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
These are awesome! I made the red velvet cake and mixed in cream cheese icing. After baking, I let it cool about 10 minutes. Then, I used about 2/3 of the icing container. My family loved these! My son even said, "These are so good you could sell them and make a lot of money!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Everyone loves these !! I mix/fold the icing right in the 9"13"glass pan a few min. out of the oven. Very easy. I love white cake mix with white icing and 1 pkg of dark chocolate chips melted down for the topping :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Watch the video. The recipe leaves out the step where you refrigerate/freeze the balls before dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
It was simple to mix the crumbled cake with the dough, but I didn't read the reviews and know to freeze the balls before dipping. I found the cake balls were very mushy and would warp whenever I tried to dip them in the chocolate. I had to drizzle the hard chocolate instead since I couldn't dip it. I'll try freezing the mix the next time I attempt this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,836) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States