Cajun Style Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Great job Heidi! This is a wonderful change for stuffed peppers. First, I steamed the green peppers instead of boiling them - easier to handle and that way they didn't get soggy. Then I used the "Creole Seasonings Blend" recipe from this site (and less of it - apprx 1/2 tbls) and right before I stuffed the peppers, I added about 8 oz sharp cheddar cheese: mixed it into the rice & sausage concoction to melt. Finally, I sprinkled a DASH of brown sugar over all and opened another 8oz can of tomato sauce and poured over the top of that. Baked and viola! We loved these! It had kick but it wasn't hot. Great blend of flavors! My whole family thanks you Heidi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Very fast and easy to make, being for Texas we like the kick from the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
These are absolutely delicious. I add melted cheese for a wonderful look and flavor. For the little effort these take to make, I give them two thumbs UP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Great recipe! These pepers are amazing. The last few minutes in the oven I grated Montery Jack cheese on the tops, sprinkled a little cajun spice and set the oven to broil for a couple minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAUNA_LYNN
Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I LOVED this recipe, even though i kind of messed it up! By the time i added the garlic to the pot the oil was soaked up by the onion and the garlic just kind of burned.. So next time i would just throw the two ingredients in together. Also i used brown rice and it took a LONG time to cook.. over an hour! I had to keep adding water to it. I used hot italian sausage and frozen cooked shrimp (add them the last 5 minutes of cooking on the stove or else they will get too tough) and I'd also cut down on the "creole seasoning" next time and add my own blend of spices.. But, even with all that it was still great and knowing what i know now it will be PERFECT next time! Thanks Heidi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
this was a HUGE hit with everyone in the family, even the picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This was a great recipe. The shrimp was a surprise to my diners and the lemon added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
excellent, but wasn't this suppose to be a vegetarian meal? thats where we found it on this website?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This recipe is great without any changes. I never have white rice in the house though so I use brown rice (instant kind). I steamed the peppers instead of blanching in water - next time I will steam them longer, until the desired softness. I assumed they would get softer in the oven and they didn't. So my only suggestion would be to steam/blanch until they are just the way you want them. Another little mistake I made - I bought pre-cooked shrimp so they were a little on the tough side after cooking. Next time I will remember to throw the shrimp in the stuffing mixture at the last minute instead of cooking them in the spices for the 15-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
We love this recipe and have made it several times. Even great reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States