Cajun Style Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Great job Heidi! This is a wonderful change for stuffed peppers. First, I steamed the green peppers instead of boiling them - easier to handle and that way they didn't get soggy. Then I used the "Creole Seasonings Blend" recipe from this site (and less of it - apprx 1/2 tbls) and right before I stuffed the peppers, I added about 8 oz sharp cheddar cheese: mixed it into the rice & sausage concoction to melt. Finally, I sprinkled a DASH of brown sugar over all and opened another 8oz can of tomato sauce and poured over the top of that. Baked and viola! We loved these! It had kick but it wasn't hot. Great blend of flavors! My whole family thanks you Heidi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
These are absolutely delicious. I add melted cheese for a wonderful look and flavor. For the little effort these take to make, I give them two thumbs UP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
This recipe was really good. I didn't have any sausages so I'd used bacon and it turned out really well. Found it took longer to cook on the stove top then the time specified. Next time I will cook the rice a head of time to cut down time and chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was awesome food for a family that was raised on Louisiana cooking! However, after cooking this, I will make some changes next time. First of all, 2-1/2 cups chicken broth made the stuffing mixture way too soupy. I felt like if I let it "cook until thick" the shrimp would be overcooked and the rice too done, So, I ended up using a slotted spoon to drain off liquid as I stuffed the peppers. I also used less Creole seasoning (I used 2 teaspoons) because I felt like it would be too salty otherwise. I'm glad I made that decision as the final mixture bordered on being a little salty. All in all, though, this was super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Very fast and easy to make, being for Texas we like the kick from the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I changed the sausage and put in a half pound spicy italian sausage and a half pound sweet sausage and it turned out great. I made this for my parents and they absolutely loved it. I will definitely make this again. It had a ton of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Used chorizo, used cooked rice and omitted chicken broth and it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Excellent. Used Creole seasoning blend from this site too, was very good. Cut peppers in half and then stuffed, personal preference, just find them easier to eat this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
We thought these were a great, simple, and healthful Sunday dinner. I used yellow instead of green peppers (preference) but other than that followed the recipe as stated. Next time I would be sure to cook the rice the full 20 min. in the saucepan, as ours came out a bit crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was GREAT! I made a few substitutions...I didn't have Creol so I just used Cajun seasoning. I also had some left over ham from the holidays and added it to the rice mixture. I have made stuffed bell peppers before, but this is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States