Cajun Style Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Husband really enjoyed. I used chicken sausage and was concerned that the shrimp would be rubbery, but suprisingly enough they were fine, even the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Excellent! Used hamburger instead of shrimp because I'm not a fan of the latter, and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This recipe was so good and easy to make. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Fantastic! I cooked the rice beforehand, so I cut out the chicken broth. I don't eat red meat, so I substituted a vegetarian spicy sausage for the Andouille. I added more Cajun seasoning, some finely chopped jalapeno peppers, and topped with mozzarella. Delicious - one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Great base recipe but it did take longer than I expected. I blanched the peppers and used Zatarain's low sodium red beans/rice mix to speep up the process plus I like their flavors. I also added cajun seasoning and some cayenne pepper and simmered for 15 min. Shrimp got added in last and the whole tihng was baked for 15 min. Baking didn't do a whole lot for the dish so I may skip that next time or just broil for a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
We thought these were a great, simple, and healthful Sunday dinner. I used yellow instead of green peppers (preference) but other than that followed the recipe as stated. Next time I would be sure to cook the rice the full 20 min. in the saucepan, as ours came out a bit crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Excellent. Used Creole seasoning blend from this site too, was very good. Cut peppers in half and then stuffed, personal preference, just find them easier to eat this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
WOW great great! I do not like stuffed peppers! tried it any way and omg! Loved it! I of course misread the sausage part! LOL and used hot italian sausage,burger,veal and pork in the mixture. Had a ton of the mix left put that in the bottom of the bowl then put peppers on it! Next time I will kick it up a notch and add a can of Hot Rotel and extra creole seasoning! red and org peppers were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was GREAT! I made a few substitutions...I didn't have Creol so I just used Cajun seasoning. I also had some left over ham from the holidays and added it to the rice mixture. I have made stuffed bell peppers before, but this is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was awesome food for a family that was raised on Louisiana cooking! However, after cooking this, I will make some changes next time. First of all, 2-1/2 cups chicken broth made the stuffing mixture way too soupy. I felt like if I let it "cook until thick" the shrimp would be overcooked and the rice too done, So, I ended up using a slotted spoon to drain off liquid as I stuffed the peppers. I also used less Creole seasoning (I used 2 teaspoons) because I felt like it would be too salty otherwise. I'm glad I made that decision as the final mixture bordered on being a little salty. All in all, though, this was super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Morgan Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States