Cajun Style Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Fantastic! I cooked the rice beforehand, so I cut out the chicken broth. I don't eat red meat, so I substituted a vegetarian spicy sausage for the Andouille. I added more Cajun seasoning, some finely chopped jalapeno peppers, and topped with mozzarella. Delicious - one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Great base recipe but it did take longer than I expected. I blanched the peppers and used Zatarain's low sodium red beans/rice mix to speep up the process plus I like their flavors. I also added cajun seasoning and some cayenne pepper and simmered for 15 min. Shrimp got added in last and the whole tihng was baked for 15 min. Baking didn't do a whole lot for the dish so I may skip that next time or just broil for a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
We thought these were a great, simple, and healthful Sunday dinner. I used yellow instead of green peppers (preference) but other than that followed the recipe as stated. Next time I would be sure to cook the rice the full 20 min. in the saucepan, as ours came out a bit crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Excellent. Used Creole seasoning blend from this site too, was very good. Cut peppers in half and then stuffed, personal preference, just find them easier to eat this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
WOW great great! I do not like stuffed peppers! tried it any way and omg! Loved it! I of course misread the sausage part! LOL and used hot italian sausage,burger,veal and pork in the mixture. Had a ton of the mix left put that in the bottom of the bowl then put peppers on it! Next time I will kick it up a notch and add a can of Hot Rotel and extra creole seasoning! red and org peppers were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was GREAT! I made a few substitutions...I didn't have Creol so I just used Cajun seasoning. I also had some left over ham from the holidays and added it to the rice mixture. I have made stuffed bell peppers before, but this is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was awesome food for a family that was raised on Louisiana cooking! However, after cooking this, I will make some changes next time. First of all, 2-1/2 cups chicken broth made the stuffing mixture way too soupy. I felt like if I let it "cook until thick" the shrimp would be overcooked and the rice too done, So, I ended up using a slotted spoon to drain off liquid as I stuffed the peppers. I also used less Creole seasoning (I used 2 teaspoons) because I felt like it would be too salty otherwise. I'm glad I made that decision as the final mixture bordered on being a little salty. All in all, though, this was super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
really tasty. rice needed to cook a bit longer. one bell pepper is enough to be a meal on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! I did one thing different though, my family likes spicy food so I used the HOT smoked sausage. It turned out fantastic!! So glad I tried this, and I will definatly make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Gela
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
What a flavorful recipe! It was a hit and I kicked it up a degree with spicy tomato sauce AND I used Linguica sausage after not being able to find the andouille...I just moved to a new neighborhood. Loved it, it's easy to make and so attractive to the eye. Prepares in advance really well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Gela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States