Cajun Style Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
My family loved this recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Made this for the guys at the fire station. They loved it. Only complaint was it had way too much salt. I suggest cutting the amount of cajun seasoning in half. I also agree with the other reviews that say this is like a jambalaya recipe. I would just make the stuffing as a meal alone too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very tasty!! But the shrimp needs to be cooked toward the end. Otherwise, they will get rubbery. Delicious flavor. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Really liked this recipe. I read some previous reviews and agree that the rice needs to cook longer, which may mean adding more chicken broth in order to keep the consistency right. Add the shrimp only for the last 5 mins otherwise they will be dry and shriveled by the time you take these out of the oven. I don't like the green peppers as well as red, but that is just my preference. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
My husband and I love stuffed peppers and I have tried many different recipes. This one is by far the best I've ever made. The flavours were delectable! Who would think to use shrimp?? I thought they would be really overcooked, but to my pleasant surprise all the ingredients came together very nicely. We love spicy, so I did use extra creole seasoning. My mistake was using brown rice which ended up a bit uncooked, but still edible. Next time I will either use more chicken broth and cook the rice longer or just use white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
followed recipe except added cheddar cheese on top for a cheezy finish. Family loved it. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Garza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I happened to come across this recipe today and by luck I had all the ingredients on hand. I have a ton of sweet & hot sausage links and was getting bored with just fixing them as is. Boy was this a great way to mix it up! I only had 1 large red pepper on hand so I cut it into 3 servings lengthwise. I used 2 sweet italian sausage links instead of the andoullie sausage and it still came out great! Didn't have creole seasoning so I used cajun seasoning & arizona seasoning from Penszky's spices, then an italian blend of herbs. I only had 6oz of leftover tomato sauce and used the 2 1/2 c. chicken broth. I cooked the sausage & onion first, then threw in the rice, broth, and sauce. I ended up simmering this for about an hour and added more broth as the rice soaked it all up (finished with beef broth because I ran out of chicken). I saved the shrimp for the end once the rice was cooked, then added some homemade hot sauce to kick it up a notch. Once the filling was done, I covered the peppers and just threw the rest of the filling in the baking dish with it. Topped with bread crumbs and Mozzerella/Provolone & Pepper Jack cheese. Baked for 20 mins. Delicious!! Only issue was the rice needed to cook a lot longer than the recipe called for, and I needed a lot more broth as it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Thanks, Heidi! This was absolutely perfect; the assembly was a little messy, and I didn't blanch the peppers, but the end result was perfect. I will definitely make this again. I couldn't find andouille sausage, so I used some regular breakfast sausage, and they turned out fantastic! Two thumbs up. Everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Reduce the amount of stock. (tip)Just double the stock to rice. The last 10 minutes of cooking I coated the top of the peppers with a small amount of tomato and hot sauce and sprinkled on top with a mixture of italian cheese. chef baz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Very good !!! next time I will cook the rice first and cook the green peppers longer, they were still too crisp after only three minutes and the rice was kinda crunchy, but we still liked it and will make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States