Cajun Style Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
love it , really tasty , ill added the shrimp when the rice mixture is finish or 2 minutes before is finish , is really easy to over cooked shrimp and they dont need more than 5 minutes to be cook , ill even added then row they will get cook in the oven .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
didn't have any creole spice, so used Old Bay instead and a heaping 1/4 tsp of black pepper. as another reviewer did, I also used chorizo, used cooked brown rice and omitted the broth. increased the tomato sauce to 15 oz. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This is very good! I thought that half an onion would be sufficent but I compensated by using 3 sausages. Also, I thought that I would add the meat and shrimp already cooked after the rice is also fully cooked. Also, the rice was a little dry therefore I added half a cup of corona and came out to a thick sauce. Overall Amazingly Cajun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracia.bea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Turned out really well. I cooked the rice before hand, left it slightly hard and finished it off in the chicken broth. I live in Louisiana, where lots of delicious hand prepared cajun sausage is easy to find, so that is what I used. Had an excellent kick! Used red onions, for my preference. Red, green and yellow peppers, organic. For the creole seasoning, I obviously used Tony Chachere's. Will make again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
As a Lousiania native, this recipe ties together almost all of the traditional themes. I'm really impressed. The only thing I'm going to do different next time is add 3-4 stalks of diced celery to the onions. The holy trinity (onion, bellpepper, and celery) is a critical component of all creole and cajun cooking. Really well done though. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
as is, 3 stars, with modifications, 5, so 4 total. cook the rice separately AHEAD OF TIME, omit the chicken broth or just add a tbs or two if using chicken instead of shrimp/sausage. steam the peppers (tops off and gutted) in 1" of water with a loose lid in the microwave for a couple minutes. i omit the lemon and hot sauce, and just use some Old Bay for the creole seasoning. very versatile recipe, i have done shrimp and italian or andouille sausage, chicken and shrimp, and just chicken if I'm low on funds. the first time I made this, I used some of a jar of spaghetti sauce. the next time, I was out, so I used some pace medium salsa. holy cow what a difference, since then I always use salsa instead of boring old tomato sauce! I shared this recipe with my grandmother, who also tried it both ways, and she agrees to definitely use salsa! add the shrimp last minute to cook some before putting mixture into peppers and baking. Since the rice etc is already hot when I stuff them, I just bake long enough to reheat the peppers. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This recipe is incredible! I was strolling through my local Southeast Texas grocery store picking up the items for this recipe and decided to buy some boudain to substitute for the rice and give the whole recipe a little kick. Boy, was that a great idea! I just squeezed the boudain out of the casing and added it right to the stuffing mixture. Also, I used Beasley's Green Onion Sausage and skipped the shrimp. This one is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
My family loved this recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Made this for the guys at the fire station. They loved it. Only complaint was it had way too much salt. I suggest cutting the amount of cajun seasoning in half. I also agree with the other reviews that say this is like a jambalaya recipe. I would just make the stuffing as a meal alone too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very tasty!! But the shrimp needs to be cooked toward the end. Otherwise, they will get rubbery. Delicious flavor. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States