Cajun Style Red Bean and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Excellent and easy! My husband told me six times that he loved it and please add this to my rotation. Disclaimer though, he IS Cajun and likes anything that is served with rice and has Judice's Cajun seasoning. I actually used 2 TBS of seasoning as opposed to the one TSP. As written we did not notice the spice at all. Just a personal preference. While I DID prepare it with the bacon, the hubby and I both agreed it would not be missed if it was left out. The hock gave plenty of flavor without needing the bacon. So if you want to save a few bucks, you can leave it out without noticing a difference. Also, living in a small town with limited shopping, we can't get Andouille sausage. I was forced to sub some turkey kielbasa (I also sub this when I make gumbo). Even though the taste difference in the sausages is a pretty big substitution, it was still delicious. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
This was so good! I skipped the olive oil, ham hock and green onion altogether. I fried only two strips of bacon in the pot. When the bacon was done, I took it out and chopped it up and threw it back in the pot with the onions, bell pepper and garlic. I used 6 cups of chicken broth instead of 8 and it was perfect for a soup. Next time I might try dropping it down to 5 cups so the soup is a bit chunkier. Anyway, this was amazingly good and full of flavor. Definitely saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Works perfect in the slow cooker: I left out the bacon and ham hock and used turkey keilbasa. I sauteed the onion, green pepper, and garlic and added it to the rest of the ingredients in the slow cooker. Cooked on high for one hour then on low for eight hours. It was phenomenal! Everyone loved it, even my very Southern MIL :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wadena, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I've been using this recipe for a few years now, and we LOVE it! I make it just as the recipe states and it is always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
A solid overall soup bursting with flavor. Very easy to make and the spices leave a nice fragrance. After reading the reviews, decided to make a few changes mainly oriented around reducing fat and sodium while spicing it up a bit. Made as written except for the following changes. Omitted the olive oil as it’s not needed when cooking bacon. Drained off all bacon grease other than saving about 1 tablespoon to sauté the veggies. Used 1 lb. Aidells smoked chicken sausage. Omitted the salt and used low sodium chicken broth (the bacon, sausage, and ham hock contribute ample sodium). To make more spicy, added 2 fresh sliced jalapenos and 1 tablespoon Creole Seasoning Blend by Joslyn from this site. With the modifications, this soup is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Things I noted to self: DON'T UNDER-COOK OR UNDER-SOAK YOUR BEANS! My Husband (33) loved this! As did his two friend/our guests that evening, our 15 year-old neighbor (he's always my guinea pig) and others that were lucky enough to get in on the action including myself! I added about 1/2 lb of ham chunks and 2 jalapenos. This is a perfect recipe as long as you have the time to dedicate to it. Did it in a large pot, next time will slow down and slow-cook. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
this came out excellent the only thing I did differently was add a table spoon of brown sugar and 2/3 cup dry sherry white wine gave it a completely new complex it was excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Followed the directions pretty much to a tee except I used left over chopped ham from Easter dinner and I left out the Bay leaves while adding a touch of cayenne. This was delicious and soooo easy and quick to put together (I used canned kidney beans). I also feel that the 8 cups of broth is definitely overkill, I only used 3. I also added some frozen corn which worked well. Thanks for a great left over ham recipe that I will be using again and again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Kooiman Barber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bly, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Using a sausage that is made with a wild meat adds a more authentic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Awesome.....I would make this everyday, plus it makes the house smell wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Scott-Cochran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States