Cajun Style Red Bean and Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I used this recipe right after Easter and used my left over ham instead of the andouille sausage and it was absoluyely delicous. One thing I added was diced tomatos cause it was a little salty, probably from the ham and bacon, so use less salt than what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albertomz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Absolutely delicious! This also smelled heavenly while cooking and made my hubby want to taste test the soup before the beans were completely cooked :) I left out the olive oil since bacon has plenty of grease. I also used red bell pepper instaed of green since we really dislike green bell peppers. I did have authentic andouille sausage for this recipe and I'm so glad I did! We didn't even miss the ham hock since the sausage added so much flavor. I decided to use the entire 16 ounces of sausage and turn this into a one dish meal instead of a side dish. Other than doubling the cajun seasoning, I didn't change much besides reducing the chicken broth to 6 cups (more than enough!) I thought this was a wonderful, simple authentic dish and I can't wait to make it again! Thanks so much for posting! FYI: This type of sausage really puts out a lot of grease so it's best to make this in advance so you have time to chill it and scoop some of that grease off the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
this came out more like a chili to me but the flavor was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I made this today, and my fiance LOVED it! I used my homemade Cajun seasoning, exchanged Spicy Italian Sausage (3) for the anduille, left out the bell pepper, added 2 cloves of garlic, used a 40 oz can of drained kidney beans, left out the added salt, decreased the chicken broth by two cups, and added half a cup of water. WHEW! These changes were just mostly out of "this is what I have to work with..." lol I Love, Love Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cebon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
great, you can just use bacon fat instead of bacon and oil. easy no grocery store dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Because I'm a vegetarian I leave the meat out of this and use veggie stock. Sometimes I add a little veggie sausage, but mostly we eat it without. My husband loves it and it makes for an easy dinner. We added a little bit of red pepper flakes to give it a bit more bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cattywompuswoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Yummy! Didn't have bacon or ham hock on hand but I did use Conecuh County sausage (Alabama) and boy was this tasty. Will definitely make this again with all the right ingredients. I'm sure it will be fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
We made a vegetarian version of this and really liked it. Used vegetarian Chorizo style sausage which contributed to the "kick." Otherwise, made the recipe pretty much as given. I'd start with just 6 cups of stock and add as you want for desired thickness. The sour cream on top was wonderful lending to a smoot, creamy, cool finish to the spicy dish. My husband and son both gave it a "thumbs up"...it was filling and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This has been a huge hit at the VFW Mardi Gras party for 3 years now. This is a soup as the name states so be prepared to add another hour (at least)to the cooking time if you want a creamier consistency to the beans. Reheats just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Delicious! I've made red beans and rice before, which is rather thick and takes much longer and more work to prepare. I like the soupy consistency of this recipe since it makes it more of a main dish. Don't leave out the rice or green onions. I used extra of both. The rice cuts the richness of the dish and the spiciness of the andouille. The green onions add a bit of crunch and freshness which complement the dish. I wouldn't leave out the bacon either since it gives added flavor. I used a leftover ham bone instead of a ham hock and after cooking for an hour, added a couple cups of diced ham along with the salt. It was plenty spicy with the andouille but my boyfriend who likes things hot added Tabasco. Would definitely make again! A great way to use a leftover hambone and ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States