Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2003
This was my first attempt at making meatloaf and although the directions were a little vague for a novice like me (how finely does the onion and bell pepper need to be chopped?? I didn't know!)it was REALLY good! I didn't have bay leaves and it didn't suffer because of it. I used a little less breadcrumbs, and more ground beef and garlic. I didn't find it too spicy as other reviewers had commented. It was a little greasy, but I just poured the oil off when it was cooked. Leaving it to stand for 15 minutes was definitely good advice. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
This is fantastic! I've tried other recipes for Cajun Meatloaf, but this is the best yet. Spicy, but didn't need to sleep with a pack of antacids next to bed. I followed the recipe to the tee & did not find it soggy or mushy. On the contrary, texture was perfect; making for great sandwiches the following two days! Highly recommend to all that generally hate meatloaf (such as I).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This is an awesome loaf. However, you must precisely follow all directions. Be patient cooking down the milk and veggies into sauce. Bake the loaf on a rack to drain off the fat. Use evaporated milk. Skip any of these three and you will get mush. Add a pince of thyme. Wait until the next day and it just gets better for sandwiches. Too spicy for kids, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Finally - FINALLY - a recipe for meatloaf that isn't bland and boring and convered with a sickly sweet sauce. This one is flavorful and delicious, and if you follow the recipe carefully it has a nice texture. I couldn't find andouille in my area so I had to substitute hot Italian sausage. My children love this. My 1 year old ate 3 helpings! I'll make this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon Riding Fences

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I am relatively new to cooking so I was taking a big step with this, but it was a hit and turned out great! We served it with a simple green salad with tomatoes and balsamic dressing -- anything heavier (potatoes, bread, even brocolli) might have been too much. For the other novice cooks attempting this -- the hot pepper sauce I used was Cholula, but you can use tobasco too. We chopped the vegies into small chunks -- not so fine that you'd use a food processor, but not too chunky either. This way the flavors blend together and you won't bite into a big piece of pepper or something. When we pulled it out of the oven the grease had pooled to the sides which you can just pour off. We let it stand for about 15 min before serving. Perfect time to make a salad and set the table! We will definitely make again and are looking forward to the cold meatloaf for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
This is the best meatloaf recipe I've tried. I am usually not a meatloaf fan, but this has changed my mind. I've also used this to make the juciest bbq'd burgers. My entire family loves them!!! Definitely try this!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
If only my mother could have made meatloaf this good. Requested over and overy by the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERWRLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
I love this recipe and I love any type of meatloaf. My family hates it. I thought maybe they would like this one, they didn't. Hard crowd to please. I loved it! Thanks for sharing it with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEAGAIN72461

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Absolutely fool-proof!!! I have cooked this recipe on three occasions to the letter, with the exception of the sausauge -- I used italian sausage; it's always turned out perfectly. It hasn't failed to be a hit, even with those who are not meatloaf lovers! Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
I made this for my husband, who is a meatloaf expert, and he LOVED it. Very moist, very spicy and flavorful, and great for leftovers as it makes a lot. Served it with mashed potatoes and crescent rolls... a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States