Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I think this recipe is perfect. I tried mixing ground pork and ground turkey to make a leaner version if this and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Well, my BF'S favorite meatloaf USED to be Paula Deen's Bacon Cheeseburger Meatloaf, but now he says he likes this one even better! We both like spicy food, and we agreed that the surface crunch is what really makes this one stand out. (You should definately place the loaf on a baking rack, as this promotes a lot of grease). I did forget to buy some green onions for this, so just used 1 cup chopped regular onion, and when I reached for the nutmeg I was out of it! So I don't know what the nutmeg might have added to it, but it didn't appear to need it. This will be made many, many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Very tsty. I did save myself a step by not frying the vegetables. There really isn't a need to because, they are going to cook in the loaf anyways. I'm looking forward to some great meatloaf sandwiches. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I never thought I'd love meatloaf so much. I used another reviewer's suggestion for a glaze - 1 cup ketchup, 1 tb brown sugar, 1 tb worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
My boyfriend and I just made this for the first time. We used tabasco and found it a little spicy and next time will try a milder pepper sauce. This is replacing our plain old boring meatloaf. We absolutely love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Overall, a good meatloaf recipe. Had a nice "zip", but not much heat (IMHO). I read all of the reviews and added some changes of my own. Here's what I did: a) substituted red bell pepper for the green one called for (since so many reviewers warned about the "heat factor", I thought a red pepper would tame the heat as red peppers are sweeter than green ones), b) substituted ground chorizo for andouille (the andouille I found was very firm, not crumbly) and c) patted the meatloaf mixture into a loaf pan instead of a 9x13 inch pan. As far as preparation goes, there are a couple of things to note. First, my veggie mixture took WAY longer to cook down than the recipe directed (i.e. to form a thick paste). I ended up cooking the mixture over medium, then very high heat for at least 15 minutes (this was after adding the milk and katsup). I still had to drain off some of the oil after that, but otherwise seemed fine. Second, the veggie reduction does take a while to cool, so be sure to allow time for it. Finally, WATCH YOUR LOAF! Mine came out a bit burnt on top, but not too bad. Perhaps covering it with foil (at least part of the cooking time) would eliminate this? Served with au gratin potatoes on the side, but would also go well with mac & cheese (I served left-overs with mac). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
The best yet! Outstanding! My family loves it! I make double batches and freeze in the aluminum loaf pans. Pull out of freezer on my way to work, throw in oven when I get home...how much easier can it ge,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This is a very tasty meatloaf! We made it twice, and will definitively make it again! Notes: Remove meatloaf from the cooking pan promptly, and place it either on a rack or paper towel, to let access juices, etc, out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Town & Country Gardens

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Yum, Yum, Yum. Meatloaf is a staple in our house, and this was a awesome twist on an overplayed favorite. Not mushy, not too spicy (but definitely has a good kick - we love spicy food!) I followed the recipe almost exactly, increasing the cooking time for the vegetables just a bit and used a spicy andouille sausage. I'm a total amateur in the kitchen, so it did take me quite a bit longer to prepare this than stated, but it was well worth the effort and the directions were easy enough for me to follow. Served with "Cajun Sweet Potatoes" from allrecipes, green beans, and Banana's Foster for dessert. Got a "wow!" from everyone! Thank you for posting this, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This meatloaf was outstanding. The first time I made it, because my andoiulle sausage came partially cooked, it was hard to crumble. The next time I made it with Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage, much easier to crumble, and it tasted just as good! Note to review readers: make sure your veggie mix is cooked into a nice thick paste before mixing with the meat, or you will have a mushy loaf! Also, if you have little ones like we do, cut the recipe in half, and make one half with a little less spice, recipe as is is a little too spicy for kids...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States