Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I added additional chorizo and cheese on top. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
We thought this was good, but won't be filing the recipe. It didn't wow us, and we have other meatloaf recipes we enjoy more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Out of the ordinary meatloaf - we did find it a little hot and will try it with slightly less hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I think this recipe is perfect. I tried mixing ground pork and ground turkey to make a leaner version if this and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Well, my BF'S favorite meatloaf USED to be Paula Deen's Bacon Cheeseburger Meatloaf, but now he says he likes this one even better! We both like spicy food, and we agreed that the surface crunch is what really makes this one stand out. (You should definately place the loaf on a baking rack, as this promotes a lot of grease). I did forget to buy some green onions for this, so just used 1 cup chopped regular onion, and when I reached for the nutmeg I was out of it! So I don't know what the nutmeg might have added to it, but it didn't appear to need it. This will be made many, many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Very tsty. I did save myself a step by not frying the vegetables. There really isn't a need to because, they are going to cook in the loaf anyways. I'm looking forward to some great meatloaf sandwiches. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I never thought I'd love meatloaf so much. I used another reviewer's suggestion for a glaze - 1 cup ketchup, 1 tb brown sugar, 1 tb worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
My boyfriend and I just made this for the first time. We used tabasco and found it a little spicy and next time will try a milder pepper sauce. This is replacing our plain old boring meatloaf. We absolutely love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Overall, a good meatloaf recipe. Had a nice "zip", but not much heat (IMHO). I read all of the reviews and added some changes of my own. Here's what I did: a) substituted red bell pepper for the green one called for (since so many reviewers warned about the "heat factor", I thought a red pepper would tame the heat as red peppers are sweeter than green ones), b) substituted ground chorizo for andouille (the andouille I found was very firm, not crumbly) and c) patted the meatloaf mixture into a loaf pan instead of a 9x13 inch pan. As far as preparation goes, there are a couple of things to note. First, my veggie mixture took WAY longer to cook down than the recipe directed (i.e. to form a thick paste). I ended up cooking the mixture over medium, then very high heat for at least 15 minutes (this was after adding the milk and katsup). I still had to drain off some of the oil after that, but otherwise seemed fine. Second, the veggie reduction does take a while to cool, so be sure to allow time for it. Finally, WATCH YOUR LOAF! Mine came out a bit burnt on top, but not too bad. Perhaps covering it with foil (at least part of the cooking time) would eliminate this? Served with au gratin potatoes on the side, but would also go well with mac & cheese (I served left-overs with mac). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
The best yet! Outstanding! My family loves it! I make double batches and freeze in the aluminum loaf pans. Pull out of freezer on my way to work, throw in oven when I get home...how much easier can it ge,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States