Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I too did not like the sausage in the meatloaf. Ground pork is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyle Turley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
It was great very tasty everyone loved it including my 3 year old. I didn't have bell peppers and I omitted the hot sauce and it was still great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Made this for the family last night. I didn't know they avoided Meatloaf like the plaque. By the time all was said and done, THERE WERE NO LEFTOVERS!! So much for meatloaf sandwiches this week for work. Minor changes to the original recipe. Peppers were omitted. Heavy cream was substituted for evap milk. Since we don't care for ketchup, I used tomato sauce. I could not find andouille (whatever that is) sausage so I used 1lb Jimmy Dean's Hot Pork Sausage. 3 eggs since what I had were rather small. The bread crumbs were a combination of stale salines & rolled oats. Overall- It was fabulous. I need to work on the consistency. I didn't think it held together as well as I had hoped. NOT A COMPLAINT. I seldom get meatloaf to hold well. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa, Florida, USA
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This meatloaf was pretty good and had some good flavors. I had to use chorizo in place of the sausage as I couldn't find any around here. I would adjust the spices just a bit to give it a little more heat but other than that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I have been making this recipe for about 10 years and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Wonderful! Made this with 1 pound beef and 1 pound hot Italian sausage. It was spicy and delicious. Note: I didn't have evaporated milk, so I just reduced 1 cup whole milk by 1/2 on the stovetop. This was perfect with simple mashed potatoes and a citrusy arugula salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This is essentially Paul Prodhomme's (of K-Pauls, New Orleans) recipe with slight variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
While this is the best meatloaf EVER, it's a ripoff straight out of the New Basics Cookbook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I really enjoyed this meatloaf with a little unexpected extra flavor and kick. I increased the amount of cayenne since we like things pretty spicy at our house. I chose Cholula Chipotle for the pepper sauce and it was perfect, added just a touch of smokey flavor. I made a thin sauce layer for the top with ketchup, worcestershire, brown sugar, ground yellow mustard, and more hot sauce. Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I have never like meatloaf before, actually I hated it, but given the reviews, I decided to give it a go. And I'm so glad that I did! I do tweak the recipe a bit according to taste and what we usually have in the house, such as leaving out the sausage and just using all ground beef, subbing yellow onion for green, 2% milk for evap. and cayenne pepper for hot pepper sauce. Good eatin' :) UPDATE: I whipped up a batch of this meatloaf and formed it into patties for homemade hamburgers. Let me just say that I will never crave another restaurant burger again!! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States