Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Very good recipe. I made a few changes due to availability and lowering fat. I used canola oil instead of butter (and only 2 TB, not 4 TB). I used quick-cooking oats instead of bread. I used mild sausage instead of adouille and a very small amount of chipolte powder instead of cayenne pepper. (The latter substitutions due to what I had on hand.) I like the changes I made, but would probably put in even less chipolte powder next time (just one shake instead of three). The outcome was good, but a shade too spicy for my taste. I agree with those who suggest waiting 15 minutes before cutting into the meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I really liked this!! It definately had that wonderful Cajun flavor, but my husband just thought it was OK, even though he loves Cajun food. I would recommend greasing the pan because with mine, the bottom of the meatloaf stuck to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
Wow! That's got some kick to it! Any restaurant would be proud to have that on its menu. I didn't use any butter because I wanted to make it a lil' heart healthy. It's a great way to get my kid to drink milk too! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
I accidentally bought smoked andoulle sausage so I cut it in small pieces and used cajun seasoning because I did not have all the spices on hand. I was skeptical but hopeful and it turned out great. I still had to make my favorite meatloaf sauce to put on top (ketchup, brown sugar and hotsauce) and it was even better on sanwhiches the next day . I melted swiss cheese on slices of meatloaf and slapped it on some toast (with the sauce) mmmm. Oh and the recipe says make it into a LOAF in the pan, not spread it out to cover the pan, some of the reviews questioned the pan size.I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
I made this for my father's birthday, as a joke. (Well, Dad, I knew you didn't already have this...) It has since become "The Traditional Birthday Meatloaf." I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Very good! Wonderfully moist for the duration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Efland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2004
Easy to make, smells up the house good too. My husband gobbled it down and had seconds - and told me "dinner was delicious." That's all the review I need! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIPPERBABE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
I really liked this recipe. I had to change a couple of things due to ingredients on hand. I used 2% milk and italian sausage. I didn't have any nutmeg and I don't like green peppers so I left them out. I had 2.5 pounds of meat thawed so I used it all and the amount worked well for a 9x13 pan. I increased the amount of spices but not by a huge amount. I can imagine this would have been too spicy if I had done the math correctly. It had a great flavor and not too much of a difference from regular meatloaf but enough to make it interesting. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes. My husband really liked it too. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
Hmmm Hmmm Hmmm I like it hot But I have children who don't; so all the spicy stuff I scaled down and omitted the salt NOTE: its better the next day. I'm not going back to my old meatloaf!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
YUMMY! I was given permission by my hubby to make it again. I didn't have evaporated milk nor the andoullie sausage, instead i used italian sausage. I used bread crumbs and instant oatmeal. Probably add more spices and hot sauce than i should of, but it still came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States