Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This was really really good. It wasn't hot enough for us, so next time we'll add more hot sauce and cayenne. I used oats instead of bread crumbs and 2 T of olive oil instead of butter. And turkey instead of beef. Everything else remained the same. Delicious! I didn't give it a 5 because it was more time consuming than I would expect from a meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This was the best meatloaf and I don't like meatloaf! I omitted the green peppers and onions and added some roasted garlic to it. I also made 2 loaves in the 9x13 pan so it would cook quicker and it turned out wonderful. Thanks Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISABOB99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This was very good and I don't like meatloaf. I omitted the green pepper due to a picky husband and I used hot Italian sausage, other than that, followed the recipe and cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Everyone that tasted it loved it but it was very HOT. I would reduce some of the hot peppers and use Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I used minced carrots instead of onions and peppers and used a little less cayenne pepper. My husband said it was the best dinner he has ever eaten. It was truly an outstanding meatloaf. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Very good recipe. I made a few changes due to availability and lowering fat. I used canola oil instead of butter (and only 2 TB, not 4 TB). I used quick-cooking oats instead of bread. I used mild sausage instead of adouille and a very small amount of chipolte powder instead of cayenne pepper. (The latter substitutions due to what I had on hand.) I like the changes I made, but would probably put in even less chipolte powder next time (just one shake instead of three). The outcome was good, but a shade too spicy for my taste. I agree with those who suggest waiting 15 minutes before cutting into the meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I really liked this!! It definately had that wonderful Cajun flavor, but my husband just thought it was OK, even though he loves Cajun food. I would recommend greasing the pan because with mine, the bottom of the meatloaf stuck to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
Wow! That's got some kick to it! Any restaurant would be proud to have that on its menu. I didn't use any butter because I wanted to make it a lil' heart healthy. It's a great way to get my kid to drink milk too! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
I accidentally bought smoked andoulle sausage so I cut it in small pieces and used cajun seasoning because I did not have all the spices on hand. I was skeptical but hopeful and it turned out great. I still had to make my favorite meatloaf sauce to put on top (ketchup, brown sugar and hotsauce) and it was even better on sanwhiches the next day . I melted swiss cheese on slices of meatloaf and slapped it on some toast (with the sauce) mmmm. Oh and the recipe says make it into a LOAF in the pan, not spread it out to cover the pan, some of the reviews questioned the pan size.I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
I made this for my father's birthday, as a joke. (Well, Dad, I knew you didn't already have this...) It has since become "The Traditional Birthday Meatloaf." I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States