Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This recipe is pretty good, but it needs a few tweaks before I make it again. I HIGHLY recommend that you pay heed to reviews left by others. For example, use italian sausage instead of andouille sausage (or NO sausage), cook the meatloaf on a rack in the dish so that it is not so greasy and leave out the cumin. if you like it REALLY spicy, use "hot link sausage" instead of andouille sausage, but be ready for EXTRA greasy meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakhurst, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Excellent. Was looking for something to do with andouille sausage. This was the perfect thing. Everyone at table loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This was really really good. It wasn't hot enough for us, so next time we'll add more hot sauce and cayenne. I used oats instead of bread crumbs and 2 T of olive oil instead of butter. And turkey instead of beef. Everything else remained the same. Delicious! I didn't give it a 5 because it was more time consuming than I would expect from a meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This was the best meatloaf and I don't like meatloaf! I omitted the green peppers and onions and added some roasted garlic to it. I also made 2 loaves in the 9x13 pan so it would cook quicker and it turned out wonderful. Thanks Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISABOB99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This was very good and I don't like meatloaf. I omitted the green pepper due to a picky husband and I used hot Italian sausage, other than that, followed the recipe and cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Everyone that tasted it loved it but it was very HOT. I would reduce some of the hot peppers and use Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
I used minced carrots instead of onions and peppers and used a little less cayenne pepper. My husband said it was the best dinner he has ever eaten. It was truly an outstanding meatloaf. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Very good recipe. I made a few changes due to availability and lowering fat. I used canola oil instead of butter (and only 2 TB, not 4 TB). I used quick-cooking oats instead of bread. I used mild sausage instead of adouille and a very small amount of chipolte powder instead of cayenne pepper. (The latter substitutions due to what I had on hand.) I like the changes I made, but would probably put in even less chipolte powder next time (just one shake instead of three). The outcome was good, but a shade too spicy for my taste. I agree with those who suggest waiting 15 minutes before cutting into the meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
I really liked this!! It definately had that wonderful Cajun flavor, but my husband just thought it was OK, even though he loves Cajun food. I would recommend greasing the pan because with mine, the bottom of the meatloaf stuck to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
Wow! That's got some kick to it! Any restaurant would be proud to have that on its menu. I didn't use any butter because I wanted to make it a lil' heart healthy. It's a great way to get my kid to drink milk too! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States