Cajun Style Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
First time making meatloaf, I tend to tweak recipes to comport with the ingredients I have on hand and my dietary restrictions, so this recipe was a guide for me and the first thing I did was to change it, and the next time I make it (it was delicious, so I will make it again), I will make additional changes. I left out the green pepper, scallions, Worcestershire sauce, milk, and sausage, and I used panko instead of breadcrumbs. Also, I used a "healthy" meatloaf pan, so the fat dripped away from the meat while it was cooking. My only complaint was that the onion/spice mixture was too mushy, so next time I will try it with dried minced onion instead of a fresh onion and I may use rice instead of panko or bread crumbs. The seasoning was really perfect, it had a nice kick. Highly recommend, will definitely make again. If you're a new cook, remember that meatloaf doesn't have to be exactly according to a recipe. There's a lot of room to experiment :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This recipe was incredible. I couldn't stop eating it. I made minor changes. 1# ground beef, 1# ground sausage, regular milk instead of evaporated, made mini loaves. It's the spices that make the recipe. Don't mess with them. They're perfect. There IS a kick to it. My new favorite meatloaf recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I'm from Louisiana and I always laugh at how some recipes don't live up to the "Cajun" name, and have to say this was amazing. It had the perfect amount of spice to it and full of flavor. I followed it to the tee and was not disappointed. I had to cook it another 5 minutes and it came out cooked to perfection. My Husband hates meatloaf but every time I make this he can't get enough. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjouett

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Love love it think I'm going to make it again tonight
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Booker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I've made this three times in two weeks! I use Berbere in place of hot sauce, and it is amazing!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Excellent! It's a nice change from traditional meatloaf. Have a tall, cool drink ready. It is spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ildie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cold Spring, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was a lot easier than it sounded like. Great flavor and texture. I made a glaze from this recipe http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Brown-Sugar-Glazed-Home-Style-Meat-Loaf/Detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Thumb&e11=meatloaf%20glaze&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page and it was great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
this is the only kind of meatloaf i make now! always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I love this recipe. I found this recipe in Chef Paul Prudhomme's cookbook The meatloaf has a nice kick. You can adjust the heat by changing the amount of cayenne pepper you use. There is a sauce you can add, but for my family adds more heat than we can handle. It's been a favorite for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I too did not like the sausage in the meatloaf. Ground pork is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyle Turley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rainier, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States