Cajun Style Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
We eliminated the beef and made it vegetarian. Slightly less of the cayenne on the second batch that we doubled. Wonderful to divide up for my husband who has little time for his lunch with his busy medical practice. Perfect for his busy life and healthy lifestyle. Highly recommend using fresh corn from the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Great Meal! I put my own spin on it. I added a little more water in order to make more servings. I used 2 lbs of ground turkey, 6 cups of corn and two cans of low sodium black beans. I also added some diced tomatoes and brown sugar. I just wanted that sweet and spicy taste. I call it Cajun Style Bumble Bee Soup. So Good over some white rice and you can't forget some Jiffy Corn Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I used tomato sauce (15 oz.) instead of tomato paste, although next time, I'm going to use homeade canned tomatoes. I also used ground turkey (we don't eat red meat in this house). I also simplified a step, I ground the meat, onion, and garlic together and omitted the oil and an extra step. I used red pepper flakes and cumin, next time I'm adding some chili powder too. And lastly, I added 1 can of mixed veggies when I added the meat mixture. Love it and will make again w/ some additional changes. Thanks for a good basis to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Tried this the other night and it just seem so bland, other than the cayenne. Needed something else...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. I used half beef broth and half water, and also used just one full can (6 oz) of tomato paste. I added 1/2 tsp of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraPocket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was one good soup! Only thing I added some sausage with it and it added something extra in taste and smell. I'm sure I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This wasokay, but basically a glorified gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I liked it, but not having a green and red bell pepper I used Hungarian and Anaheim peppers. I also replaced the water with whey because I had some to use up. Good stuff, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I wasnt too impressed the first time I made this recipe so I changed it up the 2nd time. I added 1 small jalapeno pepper, with seeds removed, changed cayenne to Cajun seasoning and used chicken broth instead of water (no beef broth in the house). It made it a little spicer but it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Awesome soup. My hubby said best I have made. I wanted it a little soupier, so I added more tomato paste and more water. I also added beef bouillon and some cumin per another recommendation. Also used frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States