Cajun Style Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
WOW WOW WOW!!! I am not a fan of tomato soup so when I read that ½ way through making this I kind of freaked out. I added 4 bouillon cubes to make my water beef stock and OMG this is soooooo good nothing like tomato soup. I am cooking up some pasta to add to this because after trying it I decided pasta would be a great add in. Oh and I didn’t have cayenne pepper so I used ground red pepper. Also my hubby doesn’t like bell peppers so I didn’t add them and it is still GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Otteni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Edwards, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Yummy added less pepper added some carrots and cumin! Good for a snowy winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was pretty good, although I had to add some salt to it for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This was actually pretty great... better than I expected it to be. Instead of 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper, I did 1 tsp. of Frank's Red Hot sauce plus just a pinch of cayenne. Then I added 1/4 tsp. oregano, 1/4 tsp. paprika and 1 tsp. dried parsley. I also did beef broth instead of water (which meant I didn't need the extra salt). 4 stars for the recipe as printed, but with the changes I'd say 5. I'm sure I'll make this again, as it's one of the better soup recipes I have tried on here in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This was very good, I was making jambalaya and had some leftover chicken and sausage so I used that instead of the ground beef. It made for a fantastic louisiana meal. So easy I will make this again definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Excellent. I used morningstar sausage crumbles and it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was a hit! It wasn't what I thought it would be because I don't think the corn was the major player in this soup, but it was delightful nonetheless! I use a bit extra tomato paste and I put some beef boullion in with the water to give it some extra flavor. I will make this again and again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This is a great recipe. I used a bag of fresh whole kernal corn and 3 cans of cream style. Substituted 1 can tomatoe paste and ceyenne pepper with 2 cans of rotel. I did not double the paste as it tends to cause a thick tomatoe foam at the top of the soup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
This soup was hearty and easy, that being said while it wasn't bad it wasn't something I was proud and happy to serve my family it was just O.K. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Love this recipe, great success with all my friends. I add two cubes of broth in the water, which makes it a bit richer. I also use slighty less garlic, but add som extra chili. Serve it with hot bread and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States