Cajun Style Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
WOW WOW WOW!!! I am not a fan of tomato soup so when I read that ½ way through making this I kind of freaked out. I added 4 bouillon cubes to make my water beef stock and OMG this is soooooo good nothing like tomato soup. I am cooking up some pasta to add to this because after trying it I decided pasta would be a great add in. Oh and I didn’t have cayenne pepper so I used ground red pepper. Also my hubby doesn’t like bell peppers so I didn’t add them and it is still GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Otteni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Edwards, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Yummy added less pepper added some carrots and cumin! Good for a snowy winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was pretty good, although I had to add some salt to it for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This was actually pretty great... better than I expected it to be. Instead of 1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper, I did 1 tsp. of Frank's Red Hot sauce plus just a pinch of cayenne. Then I added 1/4 tsp. oregano, 1/4 tsp. paprika and 1 tsp. dried parsley. I also did beef broth instead of water (which meant I didn't need the extra salt). 4 stars for the recipe as printed, but with the changes I'd say 5. I'm sure I'll make this again, as it's one of the better soup recipes I have tried on here in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This was very good, I was making jambalaya and had some leftover chicken and sausage so I used that instead of the ground beef. It made for a fantastic louisiana meal. So easy I will make this again definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Excellent. I used morningstar sausage crumbles and it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was a hit! It wasn't what I thought it would be because I don't think the corn was the major player in this soup, but it was delightful nonetheless! I use a bit extra tomato paste and I put some beef boullion in with the water to give it some extra flavor. I will make this again and again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This is a great recipe. I used a bag of fresh whole kernal corn and 3 cans of cream style. Substituted 1 can tomatoe paste and ceyenne pepper with 2 cans of rotel. I did not double the paste as it tends to cause a thick tomatoe foam at the top of the soup. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
This soup was hearty and easy, that being said while it wasn't bad it wasn't something I was proud and happy to serve my family it was just O.K. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Love this recipe, great success with all my friends. I add two cubes of broth in the water, which makes it a bit richer. I also use slighty less garlic, but add som extra chili. Serve it with hot bread and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States