Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This is good but is the predominant flavor of Cajun food just 'spicy'? It's quite similar to spicy 'rava (semolina) masala' fry Goan fish... But watch out for the smoke-- asthma-attack inducing as we learned at my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I used Tilapia because my market was out of Snapper and it was deliciuos. I also used olive oil instead of butter. The blackening season was so yummy. I am going to make a large batch up to have on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
i from new orleans and this is close to the true blackened fish. however, i love spicy food, but this recipe is WAY too spicy! the original recipe calls for 1 tsp. black pep.,1/2 tsp. cayenne, and 1/2 tsp. white pepper...cooking it this way is still spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Company worthy! This is a great dry-rub that we will use on beef, pork, and chicken, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This was probably the best way I've prepared fish. i used talipia instead of snapper and I do also recommend a well ventilated area , the spices can make breathing a difficulty when the kitchen is smoking from searing the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BloodyMaryMorning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
pretty tasty and very very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Delicious! Made it pretty much exactly as the recipe says but substituted Olive Oil for the Butter. Definitely a Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
i put less white and black pepper than the recipe called for...but it was sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Great recipe. I deleted the butter all the way around and just rolled the fish in the seasoning. WOW. If you like it spicy like me, this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Read the review of Hondafreek, and they were right about the smoke! Fish blackened very well, and the hubby loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tinton Falls, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States