Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very good! I did have some trouble keeping the seasoning on, but it was still so flavorful! My first time cooking red snapper and it was delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Keeping Hubs' sensitive innards in mind, I cut back significantly on the cayenne pepper, to only 1/2 tsp., which worked out well. I used smoked paprika, but I'm sure sweet paprika would be equally as good. Not wanting the odor, smoke and grease in the house, we do use the cast iron pan, but we get it screamin' hot on the outdoor charcoal grill. What was different for me with this recipe was the seasoning. I use one consistently that we particularly enjoy, but we were pleased with this for something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
LOVED IT!!! Me and my hubs arent fish ppl-but this turned out AMAZING-even my boys ate it. changed up 2nd time around a little spicy-the spices overpowered the fish; took out 1/2 the cyanne took out 1/4 the peppers I had 2 thick fillets of snapper so I broiled them (with the spices on) first for a bit, got them 1/2 way cooked then stuck them in the skillet to blacken them. SO GOOD-thank you for the recipe-my first attempt at making fish was a total success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Tasty and easy to put together, but no need to use 1.5 cups of melted butter. Melt 3/4 of a cup in a shallow bowl or plate and use them to dredge the fish through. Most of it ends up staying on the plate, and there's plenty left to put over the fish whille it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeneathArthursSeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This recipe is amazing! I bought 2 lbs of snapper (4 fillets), but I ran out of the dry mix. Next time, I'll just double the recipe. I didn't have onion or garlic powder, so I had to use a dry onion soup mix and it came out fantastically :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Really good recipe! I did not have a cast iron skillet, so I used my heavy non-stick caphalon pan. I squeezed lemon over it before and after cooking to enhance the flavor of snapper. This recipe reminded me of the blackened snapper I used to order from the restaurants when I visited the coast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was a great dinner by itself (4 stars) but the next night when I made sandwiches with the left over fish on toasted kaiser buns, tomato, a little mayo and pieces of pineapple it was out of this world - 5 stars! A new family favorite. I enjoy cajun spicyness but I decreased the cayenne by 1/2 teaspoon and found the heat just right. We will definitely make this again but probably go straight to the sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
We thought it was awesome but next time I will cut down on the cayenne. It was hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
It's a very quick and easy recipe. Be sure to use lots of butter! I did 3 mins on one side and 2 on the other. 2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper is way too spicy for me, so for 2 pieces of fish I used 1/3 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tough.to.be.tender

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States