Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Not a bad recipe but I changed it up quite a bit to be healthier and even simpler. a) used Mccormik's Cajun seasoning b) used olive oil instead of butter c) used small whole red snapper. I dressed the fish in only the seasoning then fried it in the hot olive oil. With that said, my version was much healthier, quicker and still tasty the same way. My cooking time each side was about 6 mins per side as the snapper was small. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I used lemon-thyme. Love the spicy-charred flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.J. Goldenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We used the spice mix and skipped the butter and baked the salmon in the oven. It was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My hubby and I are not familiar with N'Orleans cooking...yet.. If this is indicative of the flavours, then we need to get there asap! Spice mix I cut back some of the pepper, and half the salt..Used EVOO brushed on fillets, sprinkled light layer of spice on both sides, chilled for an hr as per another comment.. sprinkled a bit more before frying, used EVOO again in cast iron on med-high. Seared one side, flipped over, finished in a 350 oven for a bit..absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I lowered the amount of cayenne pepper and salt and used a bit less butter. It was delicious! Would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Loved it, I diced up a red onion and cooked them along side the fish then served it with the onions on top...bad to the bone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messyjessy1230

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This recipe was amazing and easy only thing I did differently was I used smoked paprika and added a splash of this homemade white sauce with oysters in it on top!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Made 6 servings for 8 red snapper filets. I greatly decreased the cayenne pepper so the kids would eat it. A little too much pepper for me but my sister really liked it. Next time I would decrease the pepper by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Very good, spicy fish. I omitted the onions and garlic because of a food allergy and they weren't missed at all. If your snapper has skin on one side, cook it skin side down first. I also used vegan butter since we are dairy free. Looking forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggiec

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Loved this recipe. I'm not a great cook but this turned out spicy and flavorful. Careful not to smoke out the whole house like I did...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States