Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Very easy! Little less cayenne and was perfect! Everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
We love all kinds of fish, but this was best made with a thin filet of tilapia. The cumin was a bit overpowering of all the other flavors, and yes, the cooking process very smoky. Used a non-stick griddle pan which worked well. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I didn't have cayenne pepper so I substituted Hot Hungarian Paprika. If you use stick butter, it will burn, smoke and turn bitter. You can either use clarified butter or a mixture of melted butter and Peanut or Canola oil. I also did not have Oregano,(which I only use in Pizza sauce) but substituted Marjoram which is a close cousin. Served with a side of Ratatouille and Saffron rice. All were very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SteveNSac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Loved it! I used haddock since it locally available. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nickel
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Used the recipe step by step and it turned out fantastic a little spicy but just enough to not make you cry. I ended up making a mango salsa to cut down the heat and added a little crunch plus flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This was my first try at blackening. The result was yummy (a bit on the spicy side for me but my husband LOVED it). Tasty as it was though, if I make it in the future (or anything blackened) it will be modified for the outdoor grill - made WAY too big a mess indoors with a lot of smoke that my infant son and pets didn't appreciate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Not a bad recipe but I changed it up quite a bit to be healthier and even simpler. a) used Mccormik's Cajun seasoning b) used olive oil instead of butter c) used small whole red snapper. I dressed the fish in only the seasoning then fried it in the hot olive oil. With that said, my version was much healthier, quicker and still tasty the same way. My cooking time each side was about 6 mins per side as the snapper was small. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I used lemon-thyme. Love the spicy-charred flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.J. Goldenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
We used the spice mix and skipped the butter and baked the salmon in the oven. It was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My hubby and I are not familiar with N'Orleans cooking...yet.. If this is indicative of the flavours, then we need to get there asap! Spice mix I cut back some of the pepper, and half the salt..Used EVOO brushed on fillets, sprinkled light layer of spice on both sides, chilled for an hr as per another comment.. sprinkled a bit more before frying, used EVOO again in cast iron on med-high. Seared one side, flipped over, finished in a 350 oven for a bit..absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States