Cajun Style Blackened Snapper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I have to say I was skeptical about the cooking process but wow what an excellent dish. I had to talk my husband into trying it and his comment was - I can't wait to have it again! The hubby and I loved the spice blend just the way it is. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mickeygirl
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Borden Leone
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I added Lowery garlic salt instead of garlic powder added lemon after dipping it in olive oil it's really good my man loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Very easy! Little less cayenne and was perfect! Everyone loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
We love all kinds of fish, but this was best made with a thin filet of tilapia. The cumin was a bit overpowering of all the other flavors, and yes, the cooking process very smoky. Used a non-stick griddle pan which worked well. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I didn't have cayenne pepper so I substituted Hot Hungarian Paprika. If you use stick butter, it will burn, smoke and turn bitter. You can either use clarified butter or a mixture of melted butter and Peanut or Canola oil. I also did not have Oregano,(which I only use in Pizza sauce) but substituted Marjoram which is a close cousin. Served with a side of Ratatouille and Saffron rice. All were very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SteveNSac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Loved it! I used haddock since it locally available. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nickel
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Used the recipe step by step and it turned out fantastic a little spicy but just enough to not make you cry. I ended up making a mango salsa to cut down the heat and added a little crunch plus flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This was my first try at blackening. The result was yummy (a bit on the spicy side for me but my husband LOVED it). Tasty as it was though, if I make it in the future (or anything blackened) it will be modified for the outdoor grill - made WAY too big a mess indoors with a lot of smoke that my infant son and pets didn't appreciate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Not a bad recipe but I changed it up quite a bit to be healthier and even simpler. a) used Mccormik's Cajun seasoning b) used olive oil instead of butter c) used small whole red snapper. I dressed the fish in only the seasoning then fried it in the hot olive oil. With that said, my version was much healthier, quicker and still tasty the same way. My cooking time each side was about 6 mins per side as the snapper was small. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

"BBQ" Broiled Red Snapper

Here’s a fish recipe even non fish eaters will love.

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States