Cajun Style Baked Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Using some of the suggestions from other reviewers, I cubed the sweet potatoes and put them in a large ziplock plastic bag. Then I added the olive oil, using about 4 teaspoons, and rolled the potatoes around to coat before adding the spices. A couple of quick shakes of the bag and they were coated to perfection. I microwaved this dish, using 1/3 of the recommended cooking time. We loved the results! The spice list struck us as a similar to Emeril's Essence so I'll probably fool around with that plus the brown sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This recipe is awesome. I did not have brown sugar or onion powder, but it still came out great. I cut my sweet potatoes into thin fry shapes and tossed them in a bag with everything else. I did increase the red pepper, black pepper and salt too. I cooked them at 400 degrees on a cookie sheet for 15 minutes, stired them, another 15 minutes at 400 and then I broiled them for a few minutes to brown them slightly. After about 5 minutes of cooling time, my "non-sweet potato eating" family had already eaten a forth of them right from the cookie sheet. I served these with Mac and cheese (my families' favorite) and the sweet potatoes were gone before anyone even ate a bite of anything else!! I was informed by my 10 year old daughter that she wants me to make these for her friends at her birthday party! If that doesn't convince you to try this I do not know what will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Timmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
A great recipe- definite winner! I was looking for a new way to include sweet potatoes in our family's diet because of how nutritious they are. I never liked them before, but we have eaten them twice a week since I found this recipe! I altered it a little- decreased the brown sugar to 1/2 t, added a favorite cajun spice blend, sliced the potatoes in 1/4 inch rounds and coated with olive oil cooking spray, the sprinkled w/ seasonings. Bake @ 400 for 20-30 min. Delicious! Thanks for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I cut these into "fries" and shook them up in a lidded bowl with the olive oil and the seasonings. I baked for about 30-35 minutes as directed and then turned on the broiler for the last 10-15 minutes of cooking to crisp them up. They were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Sweet potatoes with a kick - yum. Mixed some of the dry spice mixture into f/f mayo and used as a dipping sauce. The whole family loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
Now I know why my spicy sweet potato recipe was never published!!! My recipe is a little simpler. 2 Tablespoons of brown sugar to 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper tossed in a bag with olive oil and cubed sweet potatoes. Excellent variation to a recipe I thought I had created!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
A+ My family loves these! I have a picky 4 year old who will even eat them! I cut them up into fries, usually I use three yams/sweet potatoes and double the recipe! Bake in pan 400 for an hour and they are perfect! THANKS SO MUCH YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I cut the sweet potatoes into fries. Put the fries & oil in a bag & tossed then added the spices & tossed again. Baked on a cookie sheet at 400 for 45 mins. Served with Cajun Style Burgers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
These are the greatest! I had a large sweet potato and decided to cut it in half across and then cut each half lenghtwise. These halves I cut into 3 wedges. After mixing seasonings I put into zip lock bag. Each wedge was rolled all over with oil and then dropped in bag. Even though the oven was being used at a lower temp, these baked just fine. These are great hot or warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
If I could give this more than a 5 I would! We loved it! A great way to get in your sweet potatoes without the same boring casserole or just eating them with butter. I cut them into fry sized slices and baked them only 35 minutes. THANKS FOR THE AMAZING RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Baked Sweet Potatoes

See a healthier take on classic baked potatoes.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States