Cajun Spice Seasoning Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is a great cajun seasoning, I would give it 5 stars but I decreased the salt to half a cup and our 'Southern Pulled Pork' (from this site) was still a bit salty. The BBQ sauce balanced it a bit. But next time I will use less. I also added 1 tsp. Thyme and 1 tsp. Oregano. I love creating my own seasonings, people always ask what the flavors are. Thanks for this one, its a winner with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Wonderful. I love that I can make our own seasoning as I didn't have any Cajun seasoning on hand. Didn't have white pepper so left it out and it was still good. We used this on Cajun Chicken from Deb K from allrecipes. This recipe is going into my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made a batch of this to split...half to keep and half to give as an addition to a Christmas present. I've used it several times now and LOVE it! Wheather cooked into a recipe or sprinkled on fresh french fries or on warmed up leftovers, it's a 5 star for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I needed to replace my Cajun Seasoning so I didn't do so well with the sand art. I just mixed together. I used way less salt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Pretty good seasoning. I gave it away to several friends and they have all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Quick, Easy, Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Heilder, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I made this without the salt. It is a tasty mix but you don't need to use a lot. If you don't intend to use it often, try making half a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
this was amazing on shrimp.. i made this with butter on shrimp and pasta.. the friend i cooked for flipped! she absolutely loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Housewife Bilodeau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This was 'way too salty and too peppery, also. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and added ground thyme, chili powder and extra garlic powder. That cut the ordinary-ness of the salt 'n' pepper to something special! Used it in the "Cajun Chicken Lasagna" (also found at this site), and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This is great! I ommit the salt and just add some to taste to whatever i'm making. this goes really well on cut-up sweet potatoes baked until crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States