Cajun Spice Seasoning Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
OK, this is HOT!!! And I love super hot food, but man, is this HOT! Halfed it, but made as written except for I did add oregano, as a lot of cajun sesonings contain it and I like the herby flavor it adds. Used it in jambalaya- That was SO GOOD but borderline too hot... BF actually broke a sweat and had to add sour cream and drink milk to calm it down. Used it again on my Breakfast Hot Potatoes instead of my own seasoning blend, but used more sparingly now that I knew what fire power I was dealing with, they were fantastic. Then rubbed it on flank steak (again sparingly) that had soake 30m in apple cider vinegar and liquid smoke, cooked on the grill with corn and baked potato, made a salad... AWESOME dinner and I never turned the stove or oven on! Makes A LOT... we'll be using this for weeks to months... Good thing it's so yummy and versatile! UPDATE: Used this on my pumpkin seeds after carving this year... Oh my goodness, they are TASTY... didn't rinse just removed chunks/strings from about 3 cups seeds, tossed in 3-4 good shakes worcestershire, 1 tb melted butter, about a TB of this seasonong mix and baked spread out on a cookie sheet 50 mins 325 tossing every 10-15... SO GOOD!!! Tastes like spicy chex mix in punkin seed form if that makes any sense...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I made this recipe for myself and didn't put it in jars to use as gifts. It was great though! The only thing I did differently was use black pepper in place of white. I didn't have any white pepper and I didn't want to have to go to the store; I'll pick some up next time though that way I can properly make this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Very good seasoning. I only needed 2 teaspoons of it so I did more of a little bit of this and that with the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Used this in the Cajun Appetizer Meatballs recipe and it was perfect! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This was fantastic. We had our annual Mardi Gras party last year, and I ordered small 2 oz. bottles, filled them with the mix, and small purple, gold and green ribbons around the lid. I typed the name of the mix on a small address label and attached to the jar. I gave them as parting gifts to our guests. If anyone has another idea for guests gifts, I would love to hear then, since the next Mardi Gras party is less than 2 months from now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
i added some celery salt to it. just cut back on the other salt.no more buying cajun spice for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alex mcgrew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gold Bar, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
i made 1/3 of this recipe (with 2 tsp salt!) and used it on fish. it was great! tnx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Awesome, easy and great for me as I can nix the salt! Why buy premade mixes, when you can do this in about two minutes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Very easy to make and great to have on hand. Rubbed chicken with seasoning, poured EVOO over and marinated for 24 hours - the entire party raved! Not a bite leftover (60 guests).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rochester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I quartered this recipe and it worked well for Tilapia. I still cut way back on the salt. You can always add more later. I also thought it needed a little more kick. Maybe red pepper or more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States