Cajun Spice Seasoning Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
This is wonderful staple to have in the pantry. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was because of the amount of salt. Even though I love salt, I think 3/4 cup is way too much. I only use 1/4 cup of season salt and 10 grinds of sea salt. I also add a small amount of oregano and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Great mix! Easy and just the right amount of everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
perfect, and much cheaper to use spices on hand than going out and buying yet another spice blend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Made this for the first time today and I must say I was highly disappointed. This recipe called for WAY too much salt for my boyfriend's and my taste, unfortunately we followed this recipe because of the reviews and didn't realize how it tasted until our shrimp had finally cooled down enough to taste. Will use this recipe again just with not as much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
My mom loooooved this recipe ! She puts it on everything !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Easy and tasty! Nice balance of flavor and heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made a large amount of this to give as gifts for Christmas. I like the flavor and it's certainly cheaper and easier than the store bought cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Great substitute for store-bought, which my wife can't eat. I backed WAY off on the salt, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fly by Light

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
the first time I made this is was way too hot, so next time I used half the amount of red pepper, and cheated the salt a little, too. I used this in another AR recipe, Hudson's Baked Tilapia, and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
OK, this is HOT!!! And I love super hot food, but man, is this HOT! Halfed it, but made as written except for I did add oregano, as a lot of cajun sesonings contain it and I like the herby flavor it adds. Used it in jambalaya- That was SO GOOD but borderline too hot... BF actually broke a sweat and had to add sour cream and drink milk to calm it down. Used it again on my Breakfast Hot Potatoes instead of my own seasoning blend, but used more sparingly now that I knew what fire power I was dealing with, they were fantastic. Then rubbed it on flank steak (again sparingly) that had soake 30m in apple cider vinegar and liquid smoke, cooked on the grill with corn and baked potato, made a salad... AWESOME dinner and I never turned the stove or oven on! Makes A LOT... we'll be using this for weeks to months... Good thing it's so yummy and versatile! UPDATE: Used this on my pumpkin seeds after carving this year... Oh my goodness, they are TASTY... didn't rinse just removed chunks/strings from about 3 cups seeds, tossed in 3-4 good shakes worcestershire, 1 tb melted butter, about a TB of this seasonong mix and baked spread out on a cookie sheet 50 mins 325 tossing every 10-15... SO GOOD!!! Tastes like spicy chex mix in punkin seed form if that makes any sense...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States