Cajun Spice Seasoning Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I quartered this recipe and it worked well for Tilapia. I still cut way back on the salt. You can always add more later. I also thought it needed a little more kick. Maybe red pepper or more cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This is a great cajun seasoning, I would give it 5 stars but I decreased the salt to half a cup and our 'Southern Pulled Pork' (from this site) was still a bit salty. The BBQ sauce balanced it a bit. But next time I will use less. I also added 1 tsp. Thyme and 1 tsp. Oregano. I love creating my own seasonings, people always ask what the flavors are. Thanks for this one, its a winner with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Wonderful. I love that I can make our own seasoning as I didn't have any Cajun seasoning on hand. Didn't have white pepper so left it out and it was still good. We used this on Cajun Chicken from Deb K from allrecipes. This recipe is going into my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Centerview, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made a batch of this to split...half to keep and half to give as an addition to a Christmas present. I've used it several times now and LOVE it! Wheather cooked into a recipe or sprinkled on fresh french fries or on warmed up leftovers, it's a 5 star for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I needed to replace my Cajun Seasoning so I didn't do so well with the sand art. I just mixed together. I used way less salt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Pretty good seasoning. I gave it away to several friends and they have all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
Quick, Easy, Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Heilder, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I made this without the salt. It is a tasty mix but you don't need to use a lot. If you don't intend to use it often, try making half a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
this was amazing on shrimp.. i made this with butter on shrimp and pasta.. the friend i cooked for flipped! she absolutely loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Housewife Bilodeau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This was 'way too salty and too peppery, also. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and added ground thyme, chili powder and extra garlic powder. That cut the ordinary-ness of the salt 'n' pepper to something special! Used it in the "Cajun Chicken Lasagna" (also found at this site), and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States