Cajun Spice Seasoning Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I halved the salt and didn't have any problem with saltiness (although I would definitely omit any additional salt when using this in a recipe) and I should have also reduced the cayenne. In fact I just changed this rating from 3 stars to 4 because I just realized, in reducing the serving size to 2 servings, I think I inadvertently doubled the cayenne ratio. No wonder my lips are burning! Anyway, I do think this also needed some other flavors, like oregano or thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Fantastic especially with the Linguine Pasta with garlic Shrimp and Tomatoes recipe by Cindy you can find on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Granville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Way too much salt, anmd too much Caynne! It was all I could taste! Will not be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I changed this recipe to two servings just to try it out. It was very good! I cut salt in half though and used black pepper in place of the white. Otherwise didn't change a thing. I used the mix for a cajun fish recipe and it turned out great. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I made this then compared to Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning, which I use all the time-very very close! I use Tony's all the time but I want to use only unrefined "real salt" so making my own is a great option. Thank you so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I found it a little hot but very good added 2 tbs Oregano and used 1 cup sea salt rather than regular table salt . I do not use any other salt when cooking and with this mixture when salty enough the spice was just right .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Was good, just a little too salty. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was great! I made this last year for all my realatives for the holiday's and they loved it. Some of them are asking for more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I have made this twice and I use it on beer can chicken. The second time I halved the salt and liked it much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Never add salt to a spice mix ahead of time. Always salt the dish just before serving. That said, needs thyme and oregano, 1 tbs each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States