Cajun Spice Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This made great cajun spice. I used this to make cajun-mayo for cajun spiced burgers and made some cajun shrimp. I only used half the salt. I used the crushed red pepper flakes and we didn't consider this too hot at all. This made enough for both dishes and there is plenty left for a couple more dishes. Thanks for sharing Diamondlil, this is better than the store bought blends and I can control the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Super, Bobbie Jean. Prezactly what I wanted. And thanks to reviewers who cautioned about salt. I agree, this mix does not require that much salt. I may play with this a bit to suit my taste, but, I don't know that I can improve it. Just a great mix that can be used as a rub, or used after cooking. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
this cajun spice is great! i used 1 tsp of salt instead of 2. i've made thisa few times now, its easy to mixup the ingredients with different spices i just keep the recipe amount of garlic powder, black pepper, onion powder, cayenne and red pepper flakes. it's great on potatoes, eggs, popcorn and tofu! i will always keep this spice mix of some variation on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Great cajun seasoning! However, I too cut the salt in half, and used Italian seasoning instead of oregano (because I didn't have plain oregano). I used this for the Hudson's Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce recipe from this site (I reviewed that, too). I didn't add the red pepper flakes but I wish I had once I made it! It would have added the perfect amount of heat -- don't hesitate to use it if you like spicier cajun seasoning! I will be using this recipe a lot in the future! One of the best simple recipe I've found in a while. I'm going to end up using it on everything ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Yum! This recipe was easy to mix up using ingredients I already had on hand. This was my first time cooking with Cajun spice and I really liked it. I used it to make red beans and rice didn't think it was too salty, but I used all non-salt ingredients for the rest of the recipe. Next time I'd probably cut down on the salt per other reviews, because I don't think I'd miss it and it's healthier. I used the red pepper flakes and thought it was the perfect level of heat. I will definitely hang on to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I mixed this up today and sprinkled a good amount on Ore-Ida's tater tots, to go with the Ruby Drive Sloppy Joes we were having for dinner. Good stuff! I served it with my homemade ranch dip, it went well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Very nice flavor! I put some on chicken wings and baked them until they were sticky. Really good stuff! I liked the fact that the ingredients were things that you would normally keep on hand; nothing fancy. Will use this spice mix alot from now on. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittySerbia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aredendra
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
A great mix of spices except like others, I'll be cutting the salt in half. My boyfriend mixed it with plain breadcrumbs and coated chicken breasts in it and they were delicious except for the salt factor. We didn't add the red pepper flakes but I think we might next time for a little extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Excellent. Used for Cajun chicken Pasta from this sight and on hash browns. I will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sundre, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Great seasoning mix,I was a little unsure at first but after I used some on my ribs and broccoli I'm in love this recipe will get a lot of use in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States