Cajun Spice Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
First and foremost, I recommend using less salt. And instead of table salt, use sea salt. This is a standard cajun seasoning mix, and it is normal to go heavy on the salt, but unless you only use a very small amount, I find that the salt becomes pretty dominating pretty quickly. While this is a good and fairly standard cajun seasoning mix, I frequently experiment with my own mix. I usually add some chili powder, or sometimes chipolte, habanro or even ghost pepper chili powder and also frequently add more cayenne and garlic and about 1/2 teaspoon of cumin. Sometimes I skip thyme, rosemary and red pepper flakes. Lately, in addition to thyme and oregano, I have been adding Rosemary as well which gives it a wonderful flavor! In the future, I will add Marjoram and/or Parsley but I don't currently have any to try right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Williamstown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Just the average spice mix....nothing grand about it. Thanks for sharing the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellawray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This is a very good spice mix. The only changes I made were to only add 1 tsp of salt and cut down the amount of cayenne pepper to 1/4 tsp. I used this in Jambalaya, but I think it would be yummy on grilled steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Good mix. We doctored it only slightly (added more salt and didn't have cayenne so we used a Turkish seasonings blend) We added the red flakes since we both like a kick. Reminds me of crawfish, so I think that's a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
THIS IS ALSO THE SAME RECIPE AS EMERILLS BAYOU BLAST CAJUN RECIPE. ITS STILL VERY GOOD THOUGH. LOVE THIS ON BAKED CHICKEN. ALSO GOOD ON GRILLED CHICKEN & SHRIMP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Just the right amount of spice in this Cajun Spice Mix. I originally made it to use on Butternut Squash Cajun Fries from this site, but have since used it on/in many items. It is great on meats, sprinkled over potatoes and used in soups. Most of these spices can be found in your cabinet which makes this very inexpensive to make and handy to have on hand. Thanks Bobbie Jean for sharing your blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
GREAT! I'll never buy it again. So easy. And it's all common things I already had. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is one of my favorite spice blends. I can't believe I have reviewed it yet because I have been making this for well over 2 years. I use it in cooking and to add a different flavor to popcorn, and I spice roasted chickpeas with it. Thanks Bobbie Jean, this is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Delicious! I would use about 1/2 tsp less of oregano and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Just used this mix on some fried chicken livers. Great! Decided not to incude the salt,as I can always season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States