Cajun Spice Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I was afraid this was going to be too spicy. It has the right blend of seasonings even with the addition of the crushed red pepper flakes. I love knowing what my family is eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Made this exactly as printed. Since I had everything in stock, I didn't have to make any changes. When I make it again, I may substitute smoked paprika since I had to buy it for another recipe and haven't had much use for it since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Excellent! I had everything on hand. I have to watch how much I use because my hubby doesn't like anything hot so I cut back just a little on the cayenne and omitted the red pepper flakes. I used it in a pasta dish that called for cajun spice. It was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
perfect spice mix - not too hot and it is very versatile. I keep it handy for whenever I want a different spice flavoring with a slight kisk. Have used it on fish, chicken and beef, depending on where I want to go! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Love it! I buy alot of my spices in bulk, so it is great to make "specialty" mixes on my own. This seasoning is great....I've never used a Cajun mix and it was great to try on a budget. My only complaint is I used it too fast! :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Excellent, I did use only half of the salt called for, and left out the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I made Cajun Jambalaya Pasta with this spice mix. One word - wow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abir_ks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Thanks for the recipe! I ran out of Cajun seasoning and didn't want to wait until I could buy it at the store, and this was excellent in the "Blackened Chicken Breasts with Creole Mustard Sauce" recipe on this site. I used less than half a teaspoon of salt, and I think next time I'll just skip it altogether since I do try to minimize my salt intake and I didn't think it was necessary in this mix. I think the heat level was great for me (I used about 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes) - a good solid kick of spice without setting your lips aflame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Really good and not too spicy for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is great and flavorful. Easy to assemble and gives the right amount of kick. I use Cajun spice rarely but I have the ingredients for it on-hand. I will never buy a jar of Cajun spice again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States