Cajun Spice Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I make this recipe in bulk, as is, and keep it in my spice cabinet to make Blackened Tilapia and Blackened Ribeye. I have friends who don't like fish who ask me to make my Tilapia when they come over for dinner. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUDREYSMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
My oh my this is good. I used it to make pulled pork. The scent of it cooking made my house smell so good the entire day. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Fabulous! I used the optional red pepper flakes and add 1/2 t. tumeric; then keep it in a ziploc bag. I have already used it in two other recipes on this website and they were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Granville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Very good. Tried it before adding the red pepper flakes and realized it didn't need the extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This was tassty seasoning. I will keep this around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Thank you! A great way to use up my bulk spices! I mixed a couple of tablespoons of this with cornmeal and dipped my catfish in milk and then the seasoned cornmeal....what an amaing recipe! I will never buy cajun seasoning again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is great! I needed Cajun Spice, but didn't have any. I was happy to see I had all ingredients but Thyme in my pantry. (What the heck happened to my thyme,? lol) I did increase the cayenne pepper to about 1 3/4 teaspoon, but only because some spilled over. (That's what I get for measuring over the bowl... I know better!) regardless, it came out the "perfect spicy" for us, with a great kick, but not so much we couldn't taste the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cebon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very good. I used this to make blackened chicken on this site in place of the spices called for. I might cut back on the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was really good. I used it to make cajun chicken pasta from this site (which is also really good by the way). Like others, I only used half the salt, but I will probably cut it down even more next time. I didn't use the red pepper flakes and found it had just the perfect amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Great recipe, just cut back on the salt by half and substitute Hickory Smoked Salt instead. Thanks for sharing this one Bobbie Jean, and all the help from the other posters' suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States