Cajun Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This soup was REALLY good! My husband said it was the best thing I've ever made (and we've been together for 10 years). I didn't change anything about the recipe other than I didn't get the veggies very tender when sautéing them and we really liked the crunchiness that added later. I didn't have creole seasoning but had Penzey's Cajun seasoning and I used a teaspoon and a half of that. This is definitely a keeper and next time we'll add a can of crab meat to liven things up. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADERN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was as good as any restaurant bisque I have had in the past. I had nice blue lump crab meat, so I added it in the last 15 minutes. Also, I know that it has enough fat content already, but when making something for the fam for the first time, I go for all out taste - added a cup of shredded colby/jack cheese at end, and 1/2 can of rotel(suggestion from sis) (Tomatoes and green chile)... thanks! My shrimp and crab were glad they were not wasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Outrageously Good! I am no cook, though I try really hard! I found this easy to make and absolutely delicious. My family, who is a hard audience to please, loved it! It is also such a pretty medley of colors when done. Very pleasing to the eye as well as palate. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
OMG!! This was soooo good. I am not much of a seafood fan, so I mixed things up and used roasted chicken. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I didn't have any shrimp & crab boil so I just used extra Creole seasoning but otherwise followed the recipe as is and it was delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The soup was delicious. I added another tablespoon of shrimp and crab boil. The soup was a lot thinner than Ia wanted it so I made a slurry with water and cornstarch to try and thicken the soup...it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
A creamy and yummy seafood soup. We made several changes: reduced butter to 1/4 cup, subbed golden mushroom soup for cream of mushroom, subbed seafood stock for water, 24 ounces of evaporated milk for half-and-half, and used Old Bay seasoning in lieu of liquid shrimp and crab boil seasoning. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I made this for our "SOUPER" Bowl party -- it was a big hit! I got find the liquid crab and shrimp boil, so I used a mixture of the Old Bay Seasoning and a little water, but I am sure that the real thing would have been super! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Delicious! Will make again for sure! A great addition would be orien cut potatoes or black beans. My fam declares this a new FAV! I did add more of the Creole seasoning than called for because my fam likes it spicy, but not too hot. Keeper Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Excellent soup, I added a little extra creole and shrimp and crab boil. and topped with a little parmesan cheese. SUPER DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Potato Soup

Have leftover mashed potatoes? Make this tasty soup!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States