Cajun Shrimp Orecchiette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I was expecting a lightly sauced pasta dish but I ended up having to eat this with a spoon as a soup. I normally love dishes with these ingredients but I had it for leftovers today and it wasn't good. Sorry. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I altered with two cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes, 6 oz of fresh baby spinach, 3/4 cup white wine, 5 cloves of garlic and 1/2 cup chopped green onions. I also added a couple small pinches of red pepper flakes. The sauce wasn't too thin and I thought it could have used more spice. Next time I will use 1 1/2 pounds of shrimp, 2 tsp of cajun seasoning and 10 oz of spinach (we love spinach in my house). I'm looking forward to having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Based on other reviews and personal taste, I offer my humble opinion of this tasty dish. Sub'd butter to 2 tbsp EVOO and 2 tbsp butter. Increased Cajun spice, plum tomatoes by double. Omitted the cracked pepper. Tripled spinach and added 1/2 tbsp cornstarch at the same time as spinach. Also, couldn't find orecchiette at the regular grocery so served over linguine. Excellent! Thanks Dawn, for a nice Cajun twist on Scampi with veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This was a hit!! I would have loved to try the orecchiette pasta but had to substitute. I also used a yellow onion rather than shallot. Loved the flavor and will definitely cooked this again! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was very good. Next time I will skip the pasta and serve on top of gouda grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuttCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Wow. This was awesome. My husband loved this and said we should have it weekly. I used half butter and half olive oil for the fat, and maybe put in a bit less than what the recipe called for. I used the Creole Seasoning Blend by Joslyn from this site. I doubled the amount of creole/cajun seasoning and halved the amount of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Wonderful! I was told this was a "keeper", but I did add a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes, a teaspoon of white pepper, and an additional cup of diced tomatoes. I felt the sauce was too dry with only a single cup of tomato. These additions really pull the dish together and give it that extra "kick" we craved. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Yum! I used chicken broth instead of the wine and didn't have any shallots, so I left those out too. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
My adult children LOVED this. Used regular spaghetti pasta. Definetly add more fresh spinach and depending on what kind of Cajun seasoning you use, add to taste. I needed more then what was called for. Added parmesean cheese and 1/4 cup of half and half at the end. My only contention with this recipe was the sauce was runny...would have loved it even more if the sauce was thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was a fun and interesting treat. I didn't have any orecchiette but loved this recipe so much that I went out and bought some to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States