Cajun Shrimp Orecchiette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Good enough to serve for company. And easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flanders, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Followed recipe exactly except for pasta. My grocery store did not carry orecchiette pasta so I used cavatappi and it came out perfect! Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made some serious adjustments to this dish, but the base is a good one so I am giving this 5 stars. For starters, I was hungry and had to use what I had on hand in the fridge. I replaced the shrimp with a few chicken sausage links that I had and the green onion with a regular yellow onion. I also did not have scallions, but I followed the rest of the recipe pretty much as stated. The flavor on this was superb! I also added a little feta cheese on the top at the end. I would certainly make this again, super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Wow, this was wonderful--so packed with flavor! It had a bit too much black pepper for my taste, but still give it 5 stars. If you don't like heat cut back on the black pepper and the Cajun seasoning. You can always add more later. Also, with the shallots, garlic and green onion this probably not a good "date night" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
We love this recipe. We have a pescatarian friend who adores this. The great thing? Trader Joe's now carries orecchiette, which is definitely the best pasta to use - I've tried others
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEDLE29

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I would give this 4 1/2 stars if I could. It was good, but I think the wine overpowered the dish. I like cajun food and did not really taste the seasoning. I think it needed more. I used a regular onion and added a package of mushrooms that I needed to use up. I did not use the green onion and used cooked shrimp which I added only at the end. Not really sure I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I followed this recipe step by step. I didn't officially have "Orecchiette" so I used shells. Overall my boyfriend really enjoyed this recipe. I thought it would be a bit more spicy but the amount listed is good for those who are spice sensitive (I'm giving it 4 stars because I was expecting more spice. Nonetheless this was tasty!). It was simple and quick to make and was very pretty to look at :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this recipe just now; my immediate reaction is... underwhelmed. It sounded like a really good recipe with a cajun flair, but it sorta fizzled out for me. The sauce has an aroma that promises endless flavor, but it leaves the palette a bit disappointed. The thin sauce can't really lend much help to the al dente pasta and the cajun heat I was hoping for really wasn't there. I used an Emeril recipe to make the cajun seasoning from scratch, so maybe that's where something went awry - I don't know. It definitely isn't bad, I muddled it up a tiny bit by forgetting to peel the shrimp, but I don't think that changed much. I would suggest this for a light dinner with wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Thanks. This had a lot of flavor and I will definitely make it again. I used medium shells because I couldn't find orecchiette pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
this was fabulous. Followed recipes as is except used chicken as some had shell fish allergies. Also used more cajun spice-- I think mine was milder than some. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States