Cajun Shrimp Orecchiette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Too much pepper? Here's whatcha do! I should have listened to my instinct when it told me not to put the full amount of pepper in and to just begin with half that amount and taste it. The pepper ended up overpowering every other flavor in the dish. I saved the dish by making a cream sauce consisting of 2 tablespoons butter, 1/2 cup cream cheese, 1/4 cup milk, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/2 tsp parsley. I melted them all together, adding the milk slowly, until it was a nice, thick cream. Then I reheated the pasta in the pan and stirred in the cream sauce. Voila! Another tip: Definitely increase the spinach by about a cup. I gave this recipe four stars despite the pepper problem because I should have known better to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Da Bomb! I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was excellent. I didn't add quite as much butter or wine as it called for and it was still very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good and easy to make dish. I thought it needed a little more spice so I added red pepper flakes to my plate but, left everyone elses alone. I was a little worried about the 1 cup wine because it had a really strong smell but, the wine did not overpower like I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Oh my, this dish looks absolutely jammin!!! As for the photo, all I can say is WOW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peter Alfieri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Barrington, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was okay but not sure if I would make again. We did not think it was too spicy but felt that it needed something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
LOVED this recipe! We do add some mushrooms and some red pepper flakes as well. We love it hot! This is a much healthier option for us over the Cajun Chicken Pasta on this site that is made with cream. It's very tasty and I love the fresh spinach in this dish. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
My family really liked this recipe. I could not find the pasta listed in the recipe so I subbed with tri-color fiori. I added a splash of EVOO, minced vidalia in place of shallots, and added about 1/4 cup freshly grated asiago and parmesan cheese just before serving. I'm not a seafood fan, so I saved a small amount of pasta and tossed with grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This recipe turned out great! Made a few changes though because we like things a bit more spicy...made the recipe with 4 cloves of garlic and added more Cajun seasoning (2 tsp). Also added some red pepper flakes. I used a few more plum tomatoes to make more sauce so I had about 1.5 cups. I used olive oil rather than butter too. Highly recommend for a nice refreshing dinner. Husband and husband's friend raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Delicious! This was infused with SO much flavor. I added probably 2 cups of spinach and would add even more next time along with more tomato. Other than that, it's just perfect. Before serving, I sprinkled the dishes with green onions & fresh parmesan and enjoyed with a salad, bread and white wine. Truly fantastic dinner... thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States