Cajun Shrimp Orecchiette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was a pretty good recipe. The hardest thing about it is the prep time, because it took more like 30 minutes to chop everything up. I added more spinach and made it a tad bit hotter. All in all it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was delicious!! I didn't have shallots or green onions so I just substituted with white onion. I also had to make the cajun spice, which was relativey easy. My husband loved it and said that it is restaurant quality. The only problem was that I couldn't stop eating it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I was expecting a lightly sauced pasta dish but I ended up having to eat this with a spoon as a soup. I normally love dishes with these ingredients but I had it for leftovers today and it wasn't good. Sorry. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I altered with two cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes, 6 oz of fresh baby spinach, 3/4 cup white wine, 5 cloves of garlic and 1/2 cup chopped green onions. I also added a couple small pinches of red pepper flakes. The sauce wasn't too thin and I thought it could have used more spice. Next time I will use 1 1/2 pounds of shrimp, 2 tsp of cajun seasoning and 10 oz of spinach (we love spinach in my house). I'm looking forward to having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Based on other reviews and personal taste, I offer my humble opinion of this tasty dish. Sub'd butter to 2 tbsp EVOO and 2 tbsp butter. Increased Cajun spice, plum tomatoes by double. Omitted the cracked pepper. Tripled spinach and added 1/2 tbsp cornstarch at the same time as spinach. Also, couldn't find orecchiette at the regular grocery so served over linguine. Excellent! Thanks Dawn, for a nice Cajun twist on Scampi with veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This was a hit!! I would have loved to try the orecchiette pasta but had to substitute. I also used a yellow onion rather than shallot. Loved the flavor and will definitely cooked this again! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This was very good. Next time I will skip the pasta and serve on top of gouda grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuttCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Wow. This was awesome. My husband loved this and said we should have it weekly. I used half butter and half olive oil for the fat, and maybe put in a bit less than what the recipe called for. I used the Creole Seasoning Blend by Joslyn from this site. I doubled the amount of creole/cajun seasoning and halved the amount of black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Wonderful! I was told this was a "keeper", but I did add a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes, a teaspoon of white pepper, and an additional cup of diced tomatoes. I felt the sauce was too dry with only a single cup of tomato. These additions really pull the dish together and give it that extra "kick" we craved. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Yum! I used chicken broth instead of the wine and didn't have any shallots, so I left those out too. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States