Cajun Shrimp Orecchiette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
EXCELLENT! I subbed a can of drained diced tomatoes for the fresh, used 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil and the whole bag of baby spinach. I felt it was pretty watery, so I just thickened it up a little w/ a cornstarch and water slurry and it was perfect! Hubby raved over this. I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Great Recipe! I used chicken instead of shrimp and white grape juice instead of the white wine. It came out GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
While I thought this was tasty enough, Hubs enjoyed this a lot more than I did. For me, I would have liked this much better leaving out the Cajun seasoning altogether! I did prepare this a little differently - I coated the shrimp in olive oil and rubbed them with Cajun seasoning (just to my liking, didn't measure). I had them set awhile until I was ready to have Hubs throw them on the charcoal grill. Meantime, I prepared the pasta and sauce, of course without the shrimp and Cajun seasoning. Hubs and I are not big eaters, but I found scaling this recipe to three servings was barely enough pasta for the two of us, so please keep that in mind! I found I had to add more of the spinach as well - except I used baby arugula, since that's what I had in the fridge. I piled the pasta (again, wonderful as is, without the seasoning!) into big, individual pasta bowls, then topped it with the grilled shrimp. For those having trouble locating the orecchiette (they're so darned cute!), you'll find it wherever the DeCecco brand of pasta is sold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This is was amazing. I read other reviews that suggested adding cream or cornstarch, but frankly that would ruin this dish. This is not supposed to be a cream sauce or thick tomato sauce. It makes a super tasty broth that should be ladled into bowls. Pick up a loaf of crusty bread to sop up the juices and enjoy. Also, I forgot to mention that this is also quick and easy to prepare. What more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesusitadelnorte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was amazing! I used more garlic and more cajun seasoning. I also used mini penne pasta. I will be making this over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I love this! It's very flavorful and easy to make! I didn't add as much Cajun seasoning as it calls for because it seems like it would have made it to salty. This is delicious and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
this was so good! my Dad made it for my Mom on Mother' Day... perfect blend of flavors especially of the spinach and tomato! be sure to have some bread to soak up some of the juice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This is a winner. My changes were: double spinach, 4 cloves garlic, 1/2 Tablespoon Cornstarch, 1/2 wine, 1/2 C shrimp stock from boiling shells, 2 1/2 teaspoons cajun seasoning and double tomatoes. Absolutely Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was soooo good! I added a little old bay, lemon zest and cream to finish it off. I was worried since the sauce was so watery but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
great pasta dish. i didn't have the pasta called for so i used corkscrew pasta. the only other change i made was to use chicken broth in place of the white wine. i used to much pasta but that was my fault! great recipe to use the bag of frozen shrimp and bag of baby spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States