Cajun Shrimp Orecchiette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Good flavor - sauce was way to thin for my preference. If I hadn't already added the shrimp, I would have let it reduce more, but since the shrimp was in already it would have turned them rubbery. I know better for next time! Added mushrooms and a whole bag of spinach. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
EXCELLENT!!! I followed recipe but would probably add a bit more cajun seasoning next time (just our perference). This is just so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Very good combination. Love the pasta choice! I added mushrooms and red peppers, which I am thinking could have made the sauce a little too runny. I just added some Wondra flour to fix that. Added some feta cheese to make it even more interesting. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin_like_Gram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
EXCELLENT! I subbed a can of drained diced tomatoes for the fresh, used 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil and the whole bag of baby spinach. I felt it was pretty watery, so I just thickened it up a little w/ a cornstarch and water slurry and it was perfect! Hubby raved over this. I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Great Recipe! I used chicken instead of shrimp and white grape juice instead of the white wine. It came out GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
While I thought this was tasty enough, Hubs enjoyed this a lot more than I did. For me, I would have liked this much better leaving out the Cajun seasoning altogether! I did prepare this a little differently - I coated the shrimp in olive oil and rubbed them with Cajun seasoning (just to my liking, didn't measure). I had them set awhile until I was ready to have Hubs throw them on the charcoal grill. Meantime, I prepared the pasta and sauce, of course without the shrimp and Cajun seasoning. Hubs and I are not big eaters, but I found scaling this recipe to three servings was barely enough pasta for the two of us, so please keep that in mind! I found I had to add more of the spinach as well - except I used baby arugula, since that's what I had in the fridge. I piled the pasta (again, wonderful as is, without the seasoning!) into big, individual pasta bowls, then topped it with the grilled shrimp. For those having trouble locating the orecchiette (they're so darned cute!), you'll find it wherever the DeCecco brand of pasta is sold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This is was amazing. I read other reviews that suggested adding cream or cornstarch, but frankly that would ruin this dish. This is not supposed to be a cream sauce or thick tomato sauce. It makes a super tasty broth that should be ladled into bowls. Pick up a loaf of crusty bread to sop up the juices and enjoy. Also, I forgot to mention that this is also quick and easy to prepare. What more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesusitadelnorte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was amazing! I used more garlic and more cajun seasoning. I also used mini penne pasta. I will be making this over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I love this! It's very flavorful and easy to make! I didn't add as much Cajun seasoning as it calls for because it seems like it would have made it to salty. This is delicious and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
this was so good! my Dad made it for my Mom on Mother' Day... perfect blend of flavors especially of the spinach and tomato! be sure to have some bread to soak up some of the juice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States